We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton downtown Tampa Fl”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Ranked #15 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Excellent accommodations and a great staff. Everyone was friendly, the rooms were new and clean. The beds were wonderful. The rooms were quiet and you felt safe. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate you in every way.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Greetings Yvonne H,

Thank you for staying with us. It was nice to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made such a positive impression on you. Thank you for your comments.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 1,485 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I was charged for 2 nights of valet parking when I did not use that service and parked the car in an adjacent self park lot which I was gouged for as well. It is probably my fault for not double checking my final room charge summary until I got home. Don't make the same mistake.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Greetings Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the parking charges.
Please contact us if the mistake has not been rectifiy. We can offer no excuse for what you described other than lack of attention to detail on our part. Again, we sincerely apologize.

We hope this isolated incident will not keep you from choosing our hotel in your future travels.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We always choose this hotel when attending concerts at the forum. It's a short walk with plenty of restaurants along the way. The entire hotel staff is the friendliest of any place we stay. It is well located in the heart of downtown with valet dropoff on either corner, making access and departure easy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Greetings William J.,

Thank you for staying with us. It is nice to see that we are your chosen hotel when attending concerts at the forum and we appreciate that. Thank you for your kind comments especially for the one about our staff. We always strive to give excellent customer service to our guests and we are glad we accomplished that with you.

We hope to see you soon at the next concert.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My room, 823, had a king-size bed, with the TV mounted on one side of the bed (rather than at the foot) on top of a ridiculously large armoire. Laying on my side, I could almost see over the edge of the armoire to watch TV. Had to hold the remote up at arm's length to get it to do anything.

the bathroom was equally bizarre. The towel bar was mounted across the room from the tub/shower - about 10 feet away. The toilet paper holder was mounted behind and to the left of the toilet tank. I just about had to dislocate my shoulder to reach for a few squares of paper.

the coffee maker was hidden in the armoire. After I found it, I had to rearrange some furniture to make a flat spot for it near an outlet. Getting the coffee-making supplies replenished took daily trips to the front desk, because housekeeping "forgot" on 2 out of 3 days I was there. I don't know what I did to make them feel like they had to punish me.

All in all, I was not impressed. I am giving it an average rating because the bed was comfortable and the room was reasonably quiet.

Room Tip: Stay away from 823.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Greetings Oceasmith,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback about room 823. This is one of the rooms that will be renovated so the layout will be changing due to the new furniture. We apologize for all the inconveniences.

Your comments about not being replenished with coffee supplies daily will be forwarded to our Housekeeping Department for immediate action. This is not our norm and we don't want a situation like this happening in the future. Thank you for letting us know.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

There ws a problem with the power. Hotel's generators worked fine, but were no connected to even one elevator. Rather than walk up 15 floors at 11 p.m., I had to sleep in a chair in the lobby. Also, the internet didn't work right (couldn't sign in even before the power problem). Instead of waiving the room charge (since I had to sleep in the lobby) the checkout staff offered me Hilton points or a $45 discount.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Greetings Daniel B.,

We want to begin by apologizing for all the inconveniences you encountered during your stay.

Our Electric Power Company had a problem and a section of downtown suffered a power outage for approximately 3 to 4 hours. This was out of our control and we apologize for that. In lieu of that, we will be connecting 2 of our guest elevators to our emergency power generator to avoid a situation like this in the future.

We researched your account and we were glad to see that all your charges for your stay were waived for this inconvenience.

We sincerely appreciate your understanding in this situation and hope you will give us another chance to show you the quality of service you have come to expect from Hilton.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The room was comfortable and clean. I liked the shower versus a tub and shower combo. The staff was professional and always ready to help if you ask for assistance. If your travels take you to downtown Tampa I recommend you stay at the Hilton. The restaurant staff was excellent; however, the breakfast buffet is a little over priced for scrambled eggs and bacon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Greetings Mike V.,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments about the hotel and specially about our staff. Thank you for recommending our hotel.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I found the service staff to be very patient and resourceful. They were able to feed 400 persons with ease. Congratulations! The ballroom was beautifully decorated as was the bar and bride and groom's table at the entrance of the reception area. There were staff to direct attendees. The evening was a great success with the staff and wedding cooradinator working together. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Greetings Paula M.,

Thank you for staying with us. Your kind comments regarding regarding the way our staff handled the wedding reception are appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed the event.

We hope you will stay with us on your next visit to Tampa.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 163 in Tampa
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 N Tampa St, Tampa, FL 33602-5805 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $149 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing