We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Ranked #15 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed there from July 25-27th, we were there on a trip, but there was some sort of comic convention happening as well.The front desk staff was very helpful and accommodating to our requests, the concierge were outgoing and polite.Our room was really clean and had a great view. Everyone at this hotel was very friendly and made our stay a very pleasant one. We especially enjoyed the pool and the restaurant. We plan on staying there for our next trip in October. We felt that the renovations did not affect our stay at all and would honestly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Greetings Daniela M.,

Thank you for staying with us. We truly appreciate your kind comments about our staff and hotel. It was nice to see that you enjoyed your stay.

We are happy you will be returning in October. You will get to see much of the renovation completed. We will see you then.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,378 - 1,384 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here for conference for the 14th year. It is being remodeled so expect some construction issues but nothing too disturbing. Rooms are very clean, conference area is very well maintained, staff are very helpful and friendly, internet is good. Only issue is cost of food/wine in restaurant and bar. $9.00 for California only house wine is outragious when you can go down the street for much cheaper. They lost LOTS of business this conference because of the HIGH costs. 20 of use went elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Greetings Susan L,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business.

It was nice to know that you enjoyed our hotel and staff. It makes us very proud that year after year we can meet your expectations.

We apologize for the $9 glass of wine. We do offer a less price wine selection. We also have happy hour everyday from 5pm-7pm, offering 2 for 1 or half off house wine, domestic and import beers. Aparently the bartender/server did not offer the cocktail menu with the selection of wines by the glass nor did they share the information about happy hour. We apologize for the inconvenience and the miscommunication from our part. Your feedback has helped us retrain our staff on the services we offer at the bar/restaurant to avoid this situation to happening again.

Thank you for your comments. We enjoyed having you as a guest and look forward to seeing you next year.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The overall experience was not a pleasant one. Our previous room requests were not met, our room keys did not work, our previously submitted and confirmed cc auth, tax exempt forms were lost. Coffee etc, towels only partially replaced, dryer, chair missing, air intermittently working. Car left out not put in garage, bags left in foyer when requested in vehicle. Bathroom facets leaking, children running through halls at 1am and 6am, very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Greetings Angela G,

Thank you for staying with us. It was very disappointing to read that we fell below your expectations and that your experience was not a pleasant one.

After reading your review, we are embarrased to see many things went wrong during your stay. This is not the level of service we pride ourselves on. Let me assure you this is very unusual so please accept our sincerely apologies for the inconvenience. We have forwarded this review to all the departments involved for action.

We appreciate your feedback and hope that this stay will not keep you from choosing our hotel in your future travels. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Front desk, concierge, wait staff provided outstanding customer service. They were accommodating, helpful and courteous. I would recommend this hotel and intend on using it in the future for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Greetings Tim G,

Thank you for staying with us.

It was nice to know we met or exceeded your expectations of customer service. Your kind comments are appreciated.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The location is perfect for working in or visiting Tampa. The staff are friendly and helpful and they are investing agrarian deal in making it better and better. I always stay here when in town on business I can highly recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattwood25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Greetings Mattwood25,

Thank you for staying with us.

It is particularly gratifying to know that after several visits, we continue to take care of you. Thank you for your loyalty and your very gracious comments.

We always enjoy having you as our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here for an event in May at the Convention center. Although it is not right next to the convention center it is a very easy, short walk. This Hilton hotel was still under construction because it used to be a Hyatt. It was not exactly up to the "Hilton Standards" I have come to expect just yet. Also, the restaurant in the lobby was serving minimal food due to construction. I think this hotel has great potential and I look forward to seeing it after the full renovation. All in all the stay was quite enjoyable and the room service salad I had was very tasty.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Greetings Ashley J,

Thank you for staying with us.

It was nice to see that you enjoyed your visit and particularly our salad.

We hope you can visit us after the renovation so you can enjoy our "brand new" hotel.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have stayed here in the past on business and find this hotel to be a great business location because of where it is. The hotel is doing some renovations which I look forward to seeing when they are done. This hotel seems close to all major highways and within walking distance to a lot of businesses. A few real great qualities of this hotel are how clean it is and the hospitality. The Reservations Manager Christine M really knows her stuff and look forward to working with her in the upcoming year.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregg j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Greetings gregg j,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments about our hotel and staff, especially the one to our Reservations Manager Christine.

Thank you for your continued business. We look forward to having you as a guest again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 164 in Tampa
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 N Tampa St, Tampa, FL 33602-5805 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $160 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing