We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hilton stay during reno” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kissimmee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hilton stay during reno”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The overall experience was not a pleasant one. Our previous room requests were not met, our room keys did not work, our previously submitted and confirmed cc auth, tax exempt forms were lost. Coffee etc, towels only partially replaced, dryer, chair missing, air intermittently working. Car left out not put in garage, bags left in foyer when requested in vehicle. Bathroom facets leaking, children running through halls at 1am and 6am, very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Greetings Angela G,

Thank you for staying with us. It was very disappointing to read that we fell below your expectations and that your experience was not a pleasant one.

After reading your review, we are embarrased to see many things went wrong during your stay. This is not the level of service we pride ourselves on. Let me assure you this is very unusual so please accept our sincerely apologies for the inconvenience. We have forwarded this review to all the departments involved for action.

We appreciate your feedback and hope that this stay will not keep you from choosing our hotel in your future travels. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    369
    137
    51
    27
See reviews for
188
233
43
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dracut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Front desk, concierge, wait staff provided outstanding customer service. They were accommodating, helpful and courteous. I would recommend this hotel and intend on using it in the future for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Greetings Tim G,

Thank you for staying with us.

It was nice to know we met or exceeded your expectations of customer service. Your kind comments are appreciated.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The location is perfect for working in or visiting Tampa. The staff are friendly and helpful and they are investing agrarian deal in making it better and better. I always stay here when in town on business I can highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattwood25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Greetings Mattwood25,

Thank you for staying with us.

It is particularly gratifying to know that after several visits, we continue to take care of you. Thank you for your loyalty and your very gracious comments.

We always enjoy having you as our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here for an event in May at the Convention center. Although it is not right next to the convention center it is a very easy, short walk. This Hilton hotel was still under construction because it used to be a Hyatt. It was not exactly up to the "Hilton Standards" I have come to expect just yet. Also, the restaurant in the lobby was serving minimal food due to construction. I think this hotel has great potential and I look forward to seeing it after the full renovation. All in all the stay was quite enjoyable and the room service salad I had was very tasty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Greetings Ashley J,

Thank you for staying with us.

It was nice to see that you enjoyed your visit and particularly our salad.

We hope you can visit us after the renovation so you can enjoy our "brand new" hotel.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have stayed here in the past on business and find this hotel to be a great business location because of where it is. The hotel is doing some renovations which I look forward to seeing when they are done. This hotel seems close to all major highways and within walking distance to a lot of businesses. A few real great qualities of this hotel are how clean it is and the hospitality. The Reservations Manager Christine M really knows her stuff and look forward to working with her in the upcoming year.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregg j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Greetings gregg j,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments about our hotel and staff, especially the one to our Reservations Manager Christine.

Thank you for your continued business. We look forward to having you as a guest again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights while in town on business. This hotel seems to be in a great location downtown with several good restaurants within walking distance. They are currently doing construction on the lobby but are doing very well with their temporary check in area. The staff was quick to help with bags and parking and very nice. The rooms seemed clean with the usual amenities like flat screen tv, electronic safe and comfortable furniture. The only two things that I noticed which may bother a traveler was the smaller or maybe more accurately, oddly arranged bathroom and the horrible coffee in the rooms. The toilet in the bathroom seemed very close to the sink which was a bit odd. The coffee is proclaimed as Italy's favorite, I hope that's not the true because it was horrible tasting. It was bad enough that it was a topic of conversation on a trip down in the elevator one morning. Luckily they have a Starbucks in the lobby (I wonder if Starbucks provides the coffee in the rooms to boost the lobby sales). Either way it is a nice hotel with extremely nice and professional staff and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boudreaux519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Greetings Boudreaux519,

Thank you for staying with us.

We appreciate your kind comments about our hotel and staff.

We apologize you did not like the coffee in the room. This is the coffee that Hilton uses in all their properties and it seems to be a favorite of other guests. We are glad that you could have coffee in our Java Cafe. By the way, our renovation will include a full service Starbucks.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Tampa.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

for the price it was a decent value the main detrement was the renovations in progress and the insane situation in valet parking...it took an extreemly long time to retrieve our cars we almost could have walked to the other hotel (Marriott waterside) faster

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Greetings D H,

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the valet parking situation. Due to the renovation we had to temporarily relocate our main entrance and our valet staff have a longer way to park and retrieve the vehicles. This situation is only temporary until we can move back to our original main entrance.

We sincerely appreciate your understanding of the situation and hope you will give us another chance to show you the quality of service you would expect from a Hilton.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#12 of 161 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Property: Hilton Tampa Downtown
Address: 211 N Tampa St, Tampa, FL 33602-5805 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing