We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ever stood in toilet to brush your teeth?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Ranked #13 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Well if you enjoyed it, you should return to this hotel. I could not believe it. My toilet was 4 inches away from the vanity and protruded mid-way into my sink. I had to stand sideways to brush my teeth.. and I am not a big person.

Room Tip: Make sure they do not put you in a room where the toilet is 4 inches away from the sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ethan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Greetings Ethan B.,

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the bathroom being too small. Not all our bathrooms are small so please let the Front Desk Agent know about your request next time. We appreciate your comment.

If your travel plans bring you back to Tampa, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,458 - 1,464 of 1,543 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Internet is insane ($9/day/device), you can get it for free at a cheaper hotel. No washclothes in shower is apparently standard procedure. Not enough outlets in the room for 3 business travellers with computers, iPads, iPhones, etc. There were places they could have put outlets but did not. Staff was very helpful, all this is not their fault.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Greeting Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We do offer free internet in our common areas and business center. Washcloths are provided in the bathroom for our guests. This was probably an oversight, please accept our apologies.

We appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Tampa.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The location of this hotel is great, heart of the downtown. The hotel itself is OK, nothing special. It was convenient to stay there for business purpose because of it's proximity to the my office. No internet cable in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Boobalashop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Greetings Boobalashop,

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize you felt that our hotel is nothing special. We are undergoing a $20 million renovation right now and soon you will be able to enjoy our brand new product with new and exciting changes.

We do offer internet in our guest rooms for a small fee, but you can get it free at our lobby and Business Center.

We hope you can stay with us again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel was very nice, especially for the price. Very close to the University of Tampa, which was very good for us. Loved the coffee place in the Lobby and the smoothy joint across the street was handy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Monte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Greetings Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you had a good stay and loved our coffee place. Pretty soon we will have a full Starbucks Store in our hotel. We hope you can come back and visit us soon. Thank you for your comments.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here as part of a wedding party. The hotel is undergoing some construction so it was a little bit awkward, especially the valet parking and the lobby. But the staff is very nice and try hard. We got a group rate that was fair for a major downtown hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Cynthia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Greetings Cynthia O,

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the hotel being awkward right now. We are undergoing a renovation and soon we will have a brand new product. Due to the renovation our Front Desk and Valet had to be temporarily relocated but soon we will be back to normal. We look forward to having you back again in the near future so you can enjoy the difference.

We hope you enjoyed the wedding.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The stay was fairly good. The hallway to the room was freezing - evidently not thermostatically controlled. My larger complaint was the lack of free wireless service in a business class hotel. When you pay the price - you expect the service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Greetings Alan S,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you letting us know about the hallway being cold. We will pass along this information to our Engineering Department for immediate action.

We apologize for the internet situation. We do offer free internet in our lobby and Business Center.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to have you as our guest soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I Travel quite a bit and the service here was amazing. The valet ,front desk and shuttle services was extremely professional and friendly. Hotel is under renovations but clean and modern. Rooms were tastefully decorated and clean. Loved the products provided. Great price especially compared to surrounding hotels which wete a lot (up to 100 more).

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodirachelsavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Greetings jodirachelsavannah,

Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted to see that we met your expectations. Your gracious comments mean a lot to us.

We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you can visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#23 of 164 in Tampa
472 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#22 of 164 in Tampa
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 N Tampa St, Tampa, FL 33602-5805 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $221 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing