We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Ranked #14 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed one night for a concert at the Forum, a quick & safe walk even after dark. We checked in pretty quickly and were happy with our room on the 11th floor. The location is close to many downtown restaurants so we didn't eat onsite. The staff we encountered were very friendly and we have no complaints at all about our stay. Upon arrival we did not see the hotel's parking so we parked in the city garage - you can get to the hotel from the 3rd level.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ichiban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHyattRegencyTampa, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Greetings Ichiban,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay and the concert.

We look forward to having you as our guest soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,473 - 1,479 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with my son for Spring Training visit. Came back to room after Yankee Game Saturday afternoon. To my dismay, housekeeping had not made up our room. After calling desk, someone showed to clean room. After she was done, we noticed no toilet tissue or facial tissues. Too many choices to have to deal with this type of neglect.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mylmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHyattRegencyTampa, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Greetings Mylmel,

Thank you for bringing this housekeeping matter to our attention. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this caused you. We can offer no excuse for what you described other than lack of attention to detail on our part. Please be assured we have addressed this situation with our Housekeeping team and we are giving you our personal assurance that this will not happen again in the future.

We appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Tampa.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel room was nice and clean. Because of a late flight, we weren't able to check in until after 9 pm. I think that, because of this, we got one of the worst rooms. We were on an inside room on the 7th floor. Our room window looked into the atrium. There was a party going on until after midnight and the noise was pretty loud - it was like a sound tunnel and we could hear voices talking & lots of laughter.

I would still recommend this hotel. It was very nice, though there was reconstruction taking place on the first floor. However, I would really avoid the rooms surrounding the atrium!

We were headed for a cruise the next morning and a shuttle took us from the hotel to the terminal for about $5. The terminal was only about 5-10 minutes away. They will also take you to the airport after the cruise.

P.S. They had wonderful feather pillows that I used to help block out the noise!

Room Tip: Avoid staying around the atrium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DanaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHyattRegencyTampa, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Greetings DanaHouston,

Thank you for staying with us. Let me start by apologizing for the noise situation in the atrium. Part of our renovation is the relocation of the Front Desk to the Lounge Bar Area to avoid situations like this in the future. This renovation is going on at this time. We appreciate you sharing your comments with us.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here for a conference at convention centre. It is about 5 mins walk away. Comfortable, clean and efficient hotel. Room was reasonable and quiet. Breakfast is either $12 for continental buffet or $19 for cooked buffet. Bar serves snacks and drinks till late. Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHyattRegencyTampa, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Greetings MarkB,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments and hope that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to having you as our guest soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I recommend this hotel very highly because of the clean and fresh feeling to the rooms. Our room was not overly big, but very well made up and very clean. We had tickets to a hockey game at Tampa Times Forum which was an easy walk from this hotel. Valet service was great and helpful the next morning for directions to Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseMarieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHyattRegencyTampa, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Greetings RoseMarieOntario,

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. We hope you had a good time at the hockey game.

We enjoyed having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Pick this hotel because it was close to the forum and want to assist to the Hockey game.
Clean Hotel ,nice atmosphere ,room and bed comfortable not to many restaurants around the hotel good price for that type of hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHyattRegencyTampa, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Greetings LucP,

Thank you for your comments. We hope your visit to Tampa was enjoyable as well as the hockey game.

Should your travels bring you back to Tampa, we hope you will stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very clean. Good food at hotel restaurant - the fish tacos appetizer was really good. They were accommodating about my early check request and need for a fridge. Valet parking was reasonable. I ordered a sandwich and fries through room service and the fries were cold at delivery. Pool is on fifth floor.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHyattRegencyTampa, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Greetings HeatherM,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to see you enjoyed your fish tacos. We apologize for the fries being cold. Our Kitchen staff has been advised of this to avoid the situation happening again in the future.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 164 in Tampa
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#22 of 164 in Tampa
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 N Tampa St, Tampa, FL 33602-5805 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $230 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing