We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Ranked #13 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Parking do not like staff very friendly rooms.... Clean didn't have fitted sheet no refrigerator I would come back if needed had a nice bar staff was very friendly not really a lot to do if you walk around

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sahood1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHyattRegencyTampa, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Greetings Sahood1993,

Thank you so much for staying with us.

We appreciate your comments about our staff. We are excited about our undergoing renovation right now and hope you can visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,500 - 1,506 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

we drove up from Bonita to see a "Pink" concert at the Tampa Times Forum the night before the concert thinking we'd get in some city life. Tampa downtown is not fun, no place to walk to and the shops are non existent. Lots of banks and a few restaurants of which only one was open and they were out of sangria. We walked back to the hotel restaurant inside the Hilton and the Service from Mark our waiter was excellent. The food was decent although the pear and arugula salad was marvelous as was the lobster crab cake. Anyway, getting back to the hotel -- we booked a room for two. The room had exactly two towels, two washcloths and one complimentary coffee. I called for more coffee and they brought it promptly. The artificial creamer will kill you (" corn syrup solids and paritally hydrogenated soybean oil) so I had to drink it black. Nothing, from parking, coffee creamer, or bottled water, was complimentary and the room rate was not a bargain. The bed was amazingly comfy and our sweet waiter gave us a couple of wine glasses for our Brunello (wedding gift) in the room. The hotel is obviously not responsible for the town it sits in or the lack of anything to do. Perhaps things will improve.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHyattRegencyTampa, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Greetings jabmyeyes,

Thank you for staying with us.

We appreciate your comments about Mark; he is one of our customer service ambassadors of our hotel. We will pass along your gracious remarks about his service to him.

We apologize for our downtown not being fun at night. We have different venues (Ybor, Channelside) that you can enjoy just by taking the trolley at the station about a block away from the hotel. Please ask any of our staff members for directions.

We hope you enjoyed the Pink concert and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is currently getting a makeover, and the renovated parts of it look pretty good. We managed to get a good rate, and we found the location to be very convenient (driving) from the airport. The room itself was large, clean and well-furnished....with the small exception that our bed was only semi-made (GAH!). Sheets were clean, but it looked as though the maid got sidetracked midway though and the pillows and sheets were only halfway organized. Aside from this, we found the room itself to be quiet, with luxurious, comfortable sleep-quality and a large, clean bathroom. Front staff was very kind and welcoming, willing to answer any questions we had. We had breakfast with this hotel. It was pretty steep ($20 pp), but it was terrific. I wouldn't mind staying here again if I got another good rate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdgeofExistence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHyattRegencyTampa, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Greetings EdgeofExistence,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us.

We apologize for your bed not being completely made. This is very unusual and we sincerely apologize for that. We will advise our Housekeeping Department of this oversight.

We are excited about what is still coming up during our renovation. We look forward to having you as a guest in the near future so you can enjoy our “new” hotel.

Warm Regards,
Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I was a little nervous when the taxi driver didn't know the location of this Hilton. But when found out it was formerly the Tampa Hotel we left the airport and headed to this downtown location.
There were few rooms left in this town and I was able to get a room here for the high price of $229.00. Wowzers! Check went smoothly and after I told them I was coming in from an International flight the found a quiet room.
Typical convention hotel, and it looks like they are pretty much up to Hilton standards. The room was fairly small and I would normally pay not more than about $129.00-149.00. Maybe something was going on to drive these prices up. Good breakfast but a 20.00 buffet with nothing out of the ordinary seemed expensive to me as well.
This is almost up to the Hilton standard but has a little final touches to complete the job. Look for specials on this location to save some $$$$.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHyattRegencyTampa, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Greetings Stoup,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that the taxi driver knew the location after our name change. We are excited about our renovation. We just completed the restaurant renovation and we still have more to do around the hotel.

Hopefully you can join us in the near future to experience our new Hilton Tampa Downtown!

Warm Regards,
Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton Hotel Downtown Tampa for a week for a Trade Show at the Convention Center. Not disappointed in the hotel at all. Room was spacious, Nicely Furnished, Large Flat Screen TV, Good Soaps and Shampoos, Comfortable Bed and Pillows.
Parking is a bit challenging. I elected the self park option ( $14 a night ) and the self parking lot is about a block down from the hotel. During the weekend it was no problem, but during the week parking spaces semeed to be at a premium. Luckily I did not leave much so I had no problem keeping a spot, but I saw several people pull in and have to back out onto the busy street as it was full, and also only 1 way in and out. I have no idea if the hotel will valet your car if the lot is full. I would assume that they would.
The staff at the hotel was very friendly. Everyone from check in to the wait staff was pleasant and accomodating.
The convention center is about 3 blocks away. I'd guess from hotel to the front entrance of the convention center to be about 1/2 mile. It's an easy walk, but if weather was bad, it would be an issue.
Breakfast buffet was good, but I would not pay what they were asking for it. I was fortunate to receive breakfast coupons with my stay. Chauncey in the restaurant is a real gem of an employee.

Only reason I could not give excellent rating was the parking. If I had not needed access to my car for the trade show I might have paid the additional fee and just valet parked to avoid the walk and the hassle of looking for a space. I would definitely stay here again though. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHyattRegencyTampa, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Greetings Taprennoc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. It was nice to see that it was enjoyable.

Your kind comments about our staff are appreciated. Thank you for letting us know about the parking situation. We rely on our guests to know when things are not up to par and we thank you for bringing this to your attention.

If your travel plans bring you back to Tampa, we hope you will stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tiago M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: las habitaciones superiores tienen una vista espectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hsaucedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rizwan A, Hotel Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#22 of 164 in Tampa
474 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#23 of 164 in Tampa
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 N Tampa St, Tampa, FL 33602-5805 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $216 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing