We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no, no, no”
Review of Regency Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regency Inn
Ranked #140 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed July 6, 2006

Sorry to say we wanted to save a little money since we would only be staying one night. Like someone else said you get what you pay for. We booked though Hotwire and were very disappointed by the hotel they said would be like a "La Quinta, Holiday Inn, etc."
Hotel was awful. Not one towel was clean and even had dirty ones from previous guests left in the bathroom. The "free" breakfast (a couple of boxes of donuts) was gone by 8 am so none for us. Pool was green and hot tub out of service with slimmy brown water left in it. Think husband and I either had bed bugs or fleas in our bed as we spent the night scratching. It is apparent that they let the rooms to long time tenants as the desk clerk was having a disagreement with one over payment. Suggest you stay else where.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clanlamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 114 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
SW Florida
11
Reviewed May 20, 2006

It was OK for $54/night but felt a little uncomfortable. Only stayed one night. Doubt we would go back though. I'll pay the extra to have a nicer place. This place is rundown and old. Cracks in walls, picture missing from wall in room but holes were still there.

Turnoffs: Person repairing brake system on a car in parking lot, color of upstairs halls is brillant electric yellow (whats up with that?), heavy permeation of cigarette smoke especially on first floor halls, a few unsavory looking folks in area..

Good things: Nice big pool, seemed to be well maintained and in nice order, AC worked well, continental breakfast was good, queen bed was so-so but no backache in morning. If your just going for a night to go somewhere the next day no prob but I wouldn't recommend it for any length of stay.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Colorado
26
Reviewed March 18, 2006

This hotel was the worst hotel we stayed at in Florida. The entire hotel is run down, outside not kept up at all. The ice machine, the room safe and the lock on the sliding glass door did not work. There was a little chain lock on the slider. The room appeared to be clean enough but certainly not worth the money we paid. The continental breakfast was not worth eating at, I went to the car and ate some yogurt we had in a cooler. This hotel is privately owned so don't let the "Howard Johnson" name fool you into thinking it is a nice place. I highly recommend not choosing this hotel.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2006

We were on our 9th visit to Florida from England. This was the third time that we have stayed at this Motel. Since our last visit many improvements had been made and this is on going. Congratulations to the Patel family for their efforts. From the time we arrived until our departure we received first class service from everyone. Well done and thank you!! My wife & I are returning in September and we are staying here again before and after our Cruise from the Port of Tampa. My family, also will be returning to this Motel in Jan/Feb 2007. I consider that this is very good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
north of scotland
310
Reviewed March 4, 2006

After reading the reviews i was really nervous about staying at this hotel.
I booked in and was met by a very nice girl on the desk who had me booked in in a matter of minutes.We were given a smoking room as this was all they had left but it didnt smell of smoke and had a new carpet and bathroom fitted.The room was a bit dated but clean and perfect for busch gardens (5 mins drive).If you are wanting a cheap clean room this hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank agadret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank lerebours
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
8.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
9.6 mi away
Sailport Waterfront Suites
9.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
10.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn

Address: 720 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-5332 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: $39 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Regency Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing