We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nasty night”
Review of Regency Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Regency Inn
Ranked #138 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I would not recommend this place for my worst enemy. My one night stay was very unpleasant & could not end fast enough. the room just looked old, the bathroom was dirty & roaches on the wall. the ceiling looked moldy I could not sleep through the night. I was sick after that night. Never again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 114 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very poor. Was unable to sleep because of the noise from the AC.Also constant banging of doors and people talking loudly all night . Very scary. Water from the shower was cold.Waited for 15 min and still no warm water. Light from lamp did not work what a nightmare !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rajendra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Prakashwatee R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel was where we stayed for USF graduation. It was OK for that. The hotel is older and is showing its age, however, it was clean and served our purpose for a place to stay over while attending graduation. The price was right and that was the determining factor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank fmwalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here back in January of 2013. I was so disgusted and disappointed. The only good thing about this place was the location. 7-11 across the street, McD's, Waffle House, and Jerk Hut only a 3 minute walk away. That was the only good thing. To start, the hallways on the first and second floor were both disgusting and gave me a bad vibe about my room. I entered my room and realized that there was a hole in my bed sheet. It had burn marks around it. Keep in mind.. I got a non smoking room. The chair looked like it had some sort of mold or something on it. I stayed away from it. The bathroom... DIRTY and NASTY. The counters were kinda clean. The shower floor had dirt all over it and wouldn't come off even after I tried rinsing it. The toilet was just... awful. It had something on the rim of the inside. It looked like some fungus or something. It was just disgusting and unsanitary. The awkward part is how low it was to the floor... This stay was horrible and I do NOT plan to stay here again. This place needs to be checked by an inspector. So unsanitary, disgusting, nasty, and just awful.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thatadventureguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn

Address: 720 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-5332 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: $39 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Regency Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing