We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Okay stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regency Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regency Inn
Ranked #135 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    21
    14
    65
See reviews for
36
22
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Good things I can say would be that yes it is close to all kinds of food places, it was quiet, the staff was helpfull, the beds were comfortble. Now for the bad things, first it smells terrible in the hall ways, No elevator, the breakfast is a joke (bagels, toast, cornflakes,fruitloops,pastries, coffee, apple juice, and orange drink not juice) some mornings they did not have enough food to go around. The pool area would be nice if they would clean it up. The pool was full of dirt on the bottom,the chairs are just cheap plasic that are filty and cracked. The carpets in this place were so dirty that you can never walk around with nothing on your feet. We had 3 cockroaches in our bathroom. The rooms need new paint, just behind the place is an alley way that I had seen crack heads hanging out smoking their crack pipes all day and night. Good luck if you stay here. They seem to be making improvements but Im not sure how good they can get it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teena58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The best thing about them is their location. Besides being a neat cozy and clean hotel, the location makes this place a heaven. A lot of food joints are available in the vicinity along with a mall. Busch gardens and Adventure Islands are also too close from the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Vibhanshu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

wyndham i understand this property is a franchise but please go and visit and you will be dissapointed too

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
2 Thank Gilberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Room smelled. Was never told hotel with under construction. Woken up by hammer against walls early.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
202 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I made a prepaid reservation here before reading reviews. I expected to find an unsatisfactory room based on reviews from quite a few former guests. Not the case... Our room was clean and all aspects of the room were OK.
There were no bugs, the carpet looked and smelled new, the bed was excellent. The bathroom was perfect.
Get room 106 if you can.
This older hotel is located just off I-275 in north Tampa. Right now (March 2013) renovations are being made to part of it.
Bonus! If you like Vietnamese food, try Trang Vietnamese on Fowler Ave a little east of this hotel. We did and found it to be very nice.

Room Tip: Room 106...ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
2.0 mi away
Garden View Motel
Garden View Motel
#97 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn

Property: Regency Inn
Address: 720 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-5332 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing