We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Decent room at a great price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regency Inn
Ranked #134 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
192 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Decent room at a great price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I made a prepaid reservation here before reading reviews. I expected to find an unsatisfactory room based on reviews from quite a few former guests. Not the case... Our room was clean and all aspects of the room were OK.
There were no bugs, the carpet looked and smelled new, the bed was excellent. The bathroom was perfect.
Get room 106 if you can.
This older hotel is located just off I-275 in north Tampa. Right now (March 2013) renovations are being made to part of it.
Bonus! If you like Vietnamese food, try Trang Vietnamese on Fowler Ave a little east of this hotel. We did and found it to be very nice.

Room Tip: Room 106...ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    21
    14
    65
See reviews for
36
22
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Filthy room, stains all over the sheets, mold throughout the room on pictures ceilings and walls. Tub filthy, couldnt take a shower. The security door was broken and anyone could walk in. they take a hard copy of your credit card for no reason. Overall a horrific night and I will NOT stay in a Howard Johnsons again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Howard Johnson Express Busch Gardens
720 E Fowler Ave, Tampa FL 33612

I arrived late night on Friday. Front desk was closed and clerk was behind a thick plexiglass window.

Went to the room to find the bathroom with several small cockroaches. They were nested inside the bathroom door.

I can't say the room itself was dirty, but they really need to improve the pest control.

Room was ok: bed without bugs, working phone and TV (an old style one, which takes forever to power up).

Breakfast was junk: don't waste your time - just go to BK across the street and buy your breakfast there.

I wouldn't return to this hotel. Should pay more attention to others' reviews before booking.

LOCATION: Hotel is close to Busch Gardens (5 miles). Only place to eat I noticed is a BK in the other side of the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermann-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is not the Ritz hotel, but it was very clean and updated. The staff, especially Raven, was super. She was very friendly and answered any questions we had about the area. Not the best area to hang out in at night, but we felt safe in the hotel. I may not bring my kids out after dark, but we did walk down the street, after dark, to a Cajun restaurant that was very good. The bed was very comfortable. For the price this was a great deal!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30-19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tampa
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Tampa North/I-75 Fletcher
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa North - Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
2.0 mi away
Garden View Motel
Garden View Motel
#95 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn

Property: Regency Inn
Address: 720 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-5332 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Regency Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing