We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Decent room at a great price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regency Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tampa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Regency Inn
Ranked #134 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
201 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Decent room at a great price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I made a prepaid reservation here before reading reviews. I expected to find an unsatisfactory room based on reviews from quite a few former guests. Not the case... Our room was clean and all aspects of the room were OK.
There were no bugs, the carpet looked and smelled new, the bed was excellent. The bathroom was perfect.
Get room 106 if you can.
This older hotel is located just off I-275 in north Tampa. Right now (March 2013) renovations are being made to part of it.
Bonus! If you like Vietnamese food, try Trang Vietnamese on Fowler Ave a little east of this hotel. We did and found it to be very nice.

Room Tip: Room 106...ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    21
    14
    65
See reviews for
36
22
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Filthy room, stains all over the sheets, mold throughout the room on pictures ceilings and walls. Tub filthy, couldnt take a shower. The security door was broken and anyone could walk in. they take a hard copy of your credit card for no reason. Overall a horrific night and I will NOT stay in a Howard Johnsons again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Howard Johnson Express Busch Gardens
720 E Fowler Ave, Tampa FL 33612

I arrived late night on Friday. Front desk was closed and clerk was behind a thick plexiglass window.

Went to the room to find the bathroom with several small cockroaches. They were nested inside the bathroom door.

I can't say the room itself was dirty, but they really need to improve the pest control.

Room was ok: bed without bugs, working phone and TV (an old style one, which takes forever to power up).

Breakfast was junk: don't waste your time - just go to BK across the street and buy your breakfast there.

I wouldn't return to this hotel. Should pay more attention to others' reviews before booking.

LOCATION: Hotel is close to Busch Gardens (5 miles). Only place to eat I noticed is a BK in the other side of the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermann-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is not the Ritz hotel, but it was very clean and updated. The staff, especially Raven, was super. She was very friendly and answered any questions we had about the area. Not the best area to hang out in at night, but we felt safe in the hotel. I may not bring my kids out after dark, but we did walk down the street, after dark, to a Cajun restaurant that was very good. The bed was very comfortable. For the price this was a great deal!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30-19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Tampa North/I-75 Fletcher
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn

Property: Regency Inn
Address: 720 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-5332 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing