We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach paradise”
Review of Regency Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Regency Inn
Ranked #140 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Howard Johnson Express Busch Gardens
720 E Fowler Ave, Tampa FL 33612

I arrived late night on Friday. Front desk was closed and clerk was behind a thick plexiglass window.

Went to the room to find the bathroom with several small cockroaches. They were nested inside the bathroom door.

I can't say the room itself was dirty, but they really need to improve the pest control.

Room was ok: bed without bugs, working phone and TV (an old style one, which takes forever to power up).

Breakfast was junk: don't waste your time - just go to BK across the street and buy your breakfast there.

I wouldn't return to this hotel. Should pay more attention to others' reviews before booking.

LOCATION: Hotel is close to Busch Gardens (5 miles). Only place to eat I noticed is a BK in the other side of the street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermann-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 114 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is not the Ritz hotel, but it was very clean and updated. The staff, especially Raven, was super. She was very friendly and answered any questions we had about the area. Not the best area to hang out in at night, but we felt safe in the hotel. I may not bring my kids out after dark, but we did walk down the street, after dark, to a Cajun restaurant that was very good. The bed was very comfortable. For the price this was a great deal!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30-19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Anjanita M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jocelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Tatiana C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
8.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
9.6 mi away
Sailport Waterfront Suites
6.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
10.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Brandon
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn

Address: 720 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-5332 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: $39 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Regency Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing