We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
Ranked #70 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    246
    157
    60
    48
See reviews for
267
164
87
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. I like the layout of the building, on a buisy street yet set back away from the sound of traffic. Very peaceful nights to sleep. Very comfortable bed, I love the pillows! Very clean room, the housekeeping staff always made my bed and left me nice clean towels and a fresh room, was so nice to go back to after a buisy day. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana_102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHojo_STampa, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson South Tampa. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on our accommodations and your stay with us.
We welcome you to your home away from home next time you visit your daughter and the Tampa Bay area.

Best Wishes,
Vanessa Rodriguez
Manager
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Nice room, friendly staff. Not so great breakfast!! Same boring stuff. Never anything different. Staff in breakfast area not so friendly. Coffee cups stick together. Noticed wrapped in plastic, good!! Coffee taste bad.. Very week.. Thanks..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHojo_STampa, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Joseph K,
Thank you for being our guest. We apologize for the issues encountered. As we value your opinion, we are currently revising our breakfast menu to make it more appealing and offer a different variety of items. I will speak with my staff to ensure we are providing the best service possible.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and welcome you give us another opportunity during your next visit to the Tamp area.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Rodriguez
Manager
Howard Johnson South Tampa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhanbad, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

almost good hotel to stay near by airport. it take half an hour to go reach downtown by taxi $25 approx or more during evening. nice place to stay, no near by restaurant for lunch or dinner , only McDonald is option. swimming pool is available but not worth like to be.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prem26bit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHojo_STampa, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for being our guest at Howard Johnson South Tampa. I am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking time to share your thoughts on our location.

Our top priority is making all of our guest have the best stay possible, and welcome you to visit us again next time you are in the Tampa Bay area.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Rodriguez
Manager
Howard Johnson South Tampa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#98 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
13.2 mi away
Ramada Temple Terrace/Tampa North
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tampa
Best Western Tampa
#46 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
2.1 mi away
Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park Hotel
#91 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
Address: 3314 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629-7840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newly renovated Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Tampa. We are the closest hotel to Macdill Air Force Base and also within 5 miles of Tampa International Airport, Downtown, Cruise Terminal, St. Pete Times, Forum, and Raymond James Stadium. We fully renovated our hotel including a brand new bedding package in 2009. We welcome all guests to come see the new Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites - South Tampa / Airport
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing