We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever...greetings from Atascocita, Texas!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
Ranked #77 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Location, location, location...this is the place to be! There are plenty of places to go up and down Mabry street. St. Pete's is only 15 minutes away and we were abe to visit plenty of other shopping centers. The manager, Mrs. Cruz, and her staff were incredible! The rooms were clean, quiet neighborhood and there is a public park around the corner. The breakfast in the morning is more than what was expected. I only wish we could have stayed longer! We are definitely booking here for our next visit!Thank you Mrs. Cruz for your devotion and service!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andres L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHojo_STampa, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Andres,

Thank you so much for the positive comments! We are glad to hear that our location was able to offer plenty of activities as well as necessities in the immediate area. Here at Howard Johnson we strive to give each and every customer the best possible experience from the moment you enter our lobby to the time you check out.

We are looking forward to accommodating you next time your in the Tampa Bay area.



-Nicolas Kozlar, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 768 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Everything was great, except my CC was charged for the room, as was the CC of the person who set up the reservation. (when I arrived, he asked for my CC and I said the room was already paid for. he said no, it wasn't, so I whipped out my CC. The next day my handler called to say her CC was charged for the full price of the room) She is working on a resolution to that. Other than that, the service was great, the room was clean and I got a great night's sleep!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Maryjeanine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojosouthtampaairpor, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Noreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojosouthtampaairpor, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We flew in and out of Tampa on Spring Break. Needed a hotel that was convenient to the airport and the highway. Checked Trip Advisor saw the reviews and booked online through HOJOs. A very basic looking drive up hotel that has been spruced up. Yes there is road noise and it can get very busy, but the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable (double queen beds!) and the staff very accomodating (Kathy at breafast was so nice!). You get what you pay for, a clean, comforatble room. if you need a place to rest your head to start or end a vacation, you can do much worse.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volleydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tampa
Best Western Tampa
#55 of 163 in Tampa
497 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Area-Tampa South
2.0 mi away
Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park Hotel
#112 of 163 in Tampa
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
13.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Near Busch Gardens/usf
10.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport

Address: 3314 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629-7840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $71 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newly renovated Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Tampa. We are the closest hotel to Macdill Air Force Base and also within 5 miles of Tampa International Airport, Downtown, Cruise Terminal, St. Pete Times, Forum, and Raymond James Stadium. We fully renovated our hotel including a brand new bedding package in 2009. We welcome all guests to come see the new Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites - South Tampa / Airport
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing