We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hotel not as bad as previous reviews” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium
Ranked #126 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Hotel not as bad as previous reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2005

My friend and I stayed here the night before going on a cruise. It is not as bad as others have posted. I got to the hotel about 7:00 p.m. and the free shuttle service from the airport was easy and convenient. There are several "strip" clubs nearby but the Howard Johnson was quiet the whole night. The room although not four star suited our needs for a room before getting on the ship. The staff was friendly and helped us with directions to the cruise terminal in the morning. The continental breakfast was also not bad. I would recommend this as a one night stay, but not a long term one.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marymcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    60
    106
    140
    161
See reviews for
118
109
93
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2005

This is an older property that met our needs quite well. We needed a bed for one night before starting a cruise and did not want to pay a lot for amenities. For under $60 we got an ordinary room that was acceptably clean with a free shuttle from the airport and a good shuttle (for a $10 fee) to the cruise port. The site is not family friendly as there are a number of adult bars and clubs in the area but it also has a great steakhouse right next door (Longhorn, ask for Brian's section, he was great). The rooms were pretty standard motel fare but the bathroom fixtures are updated. Our bed was a king, and was comfortable. The room also had a fridge that was handy for keeping drinks cool. The TV included a channel of HBO. The staff was helpful. The shuttle service (they use BayShuttle for this service) was a bit disorganized as they forgot to pick us up from the airport leaving us waiting for over an hour. The hotel staff said that if we wait for any longer than 1/2 hour that we could have taken a taxi and they would have covered the taxi ride. Keep that in mind if you use the shuttle service.

Definately not fancy but for the price, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sunlover42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotampafl, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel –Tampa. I am glad that you found it to be a good stay for you. I am glad that you found the staff to be helpful, that is what we would expect from them but it is always nice to hear.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following step was taken:

• Staff members were told of the nice comments you made about them.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Hotel –Tampa. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2005

We stayed at this hotel in late February of 2005 having made the reservation through the Howard Johnson web site almost a year earlier. We arrived on a late flight and we were leaving the next morning on a cruise. The rate was quite reasonable ($50 for two) and included the typical continental breakfast. The room was certainly in need of remodeling. When my wife and I got into bed it was like falling into the Grand Canyon! It's time to invest in new a new mattress! They do provide free van service to and from the airport as well as to the cruise terminal. Unfortunately the van service ends at 10 p.m. and by the time we had obtained our luggage it was 11 p.m. We did take advantage of the ride to the cruise terminal the next morning which was convenient. Again, one night was fine, but you wouldn't want to vacation here!

Helpful?
4 Thank tip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotampafl, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel –Tampa for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that the van service to the cruise terminal was convenient for you.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• The management was informed of your opinion that it is time for some remodeling. We do value the opinions of our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Hotel –Tampa. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome Ga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2004

We stayed at this motel Prior to a cruise in may of 2004 Rooms out dated Mold on bathroom ceiling bad Bed wap sided worst experiance I have ever had at any motel anywhere cont breakfast was little debbie cakes and coffee LOL this is true Stay in your car befor this place

Helpful?
4 Thank James&Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotampafl, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel –Tampa for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) The mold on the bathroom ceiling in the room to which you were assigned was reported to the housekeeping staff and they were instructed to remove it.

2) The staff in charge of the continental breakfast was approached about the possibility of enlarging the choices.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Hotel –Tampa. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2004

We have stayed at many Howard Johnson's and we have always been happy with our stay. We arrived and checked in. The man at the desk had a hard time understanding us. We had booked 4 months in advance because we were taking a cruise. When we arrived in our room it only had one bed. We had two teens and two adults. We asked for another room and they did not have any rooms, extra pillows, or blankets/ They did locate a rollaway bed, but we had to deliver it to our own room up two flights of stairs. We had to share the blankets on our bed. So a few of us only had a sheet. The location is not great it is situated right next to two strip joints. We will not be staying there again. !!!

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotampafl, webmaster at Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel –Tampa for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following step was taken:

• We talked with the manager about setting up a system where we could be sure that rooms reserved well in advance would be available.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Hotel –Tampa. I think you will be very pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
1.8 mi away
Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#101 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium
Address: 2055 North Dale Mabry Highway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium 2*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa Airport/Stadium consistently provides the kind of comfort, service and hospitality you expect in a hotel for both vacation and business travelers. Free Scheduled shuttle to/from Tampa Int. Airport 5:15am-11pm, which runs every hour. Transportation also available to Port of Tampa, 10 Dollars Per Person each way. Free Continental Breakfast in Lobby 5:30 a.m.-9:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing