We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left immediately”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium
Ranked #126 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Lutz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Left immediately”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Went to my room. Went to take a shower. Closed bathroom door and behind it was a pair of dirty underwear - NOT MINE. I went to the counter, and the individual told me he was unable to refund my money. I left. It was fairly disgusting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
2 Thank Lewis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    70
    119
    152
    200
See reviews for
148
128
104
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

had called the 1800 to make a reservation and I specified that I needed early check in and asked for a non-smoking room. The operator assured me that when I would arrive at the hotel my room would be waiting for me. To my surprise, when I got to the hotel, the nice front desk clerk, Anita, informs me that there are no rooms available. I was extremely upset and not knowing the town I was emotionally upset. She tells me to call the 1800 number again and see what they could do to fix the situation. The operator was absolutely no help, but Anita was very compassionate and seeing how upset and scared I was she was able to find me a room. I am very thankful that the hotel has such a wonderful employee who went above and beyond to help me. Thank you Anita and as long as you work there next time I visit Tampa, I will stay at your facility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed a night here after a fortnight in Orlando, the night before my morning flight back to Heathrow.
As the title of my review says, this place really is as bad as it gets.

On walking into the lobby, I was greeted by a miserable "Anything was too much trouble" receptionist.

Got the key to my room, which smelled of smoke (I'm an ex smoker - I've never smelled any place so bad) My fault partly because I forgot to ask for a non smoking room.
The room door wouldn't lock from the outside. A problem, because I wasn't staying in the room a minute longer than necessary.

Reception gave me the key to the adjacent room.
The door would lock in this room .......which is probably the only good thing that I can say about it.

Again, it smelled really strongly of smoke. Not fresh smoke - but really nasty stale smoke.

The aircon was noisy - really noisy.
The safe didn't work.
The whole place looked grubby and dirty.

Seriously, I'm not especially fussy, but cleanliness, an air freshener and basic equipment working are not big asks.

Steer well clear is my advice.

Room Tip: Choose a room in any place other than here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

First, I was on a mission trip in Haiti and slept with lizards and massive bugs and it was still better than this!! Carpet-Filthy, non smoking room had ashes all over the place, smoke detector laying on the dresser with battery beside it, towels and shower covered in black hairs, roaches running all over night stand, stunk like $#!+.....had a window air conditioner and It was cold. The shower smelled like raw sewage. The safe didn't even have a door!!! Very Convenient location with several food choices etc close by. I went to front desk after I saw roaches and demanded a refund. They wouldn't give my money back but gave me an upgraded room in a diff building. Surprised to find that it was at least clean, don't stink, and appears to be stayable 1 night. However, I would Never come back again!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KG2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. At first, I was a bit worried when I drove into the complex and saw a group of housekeepers standing around, talking and on cell phones when they were supposed to be cleaning a room, not to mention the semi-dirty carpeting in my room. Other than this, the room was clean, I felt secure (despite the pseudo-sketchy neighborhood) and the hotel was close to EVERYTHING!! I could get to downtown or wherever in just 10 minutes. There is plenty of shopping and restaurants w/in walking distance and if you like adult entertainment, you're in luck - there are at least 5 places in the area. Cheap and fairly clean room (though I did find a hair in the fridge) and convenient to everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
1.9 mi away
Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
1.3 mi away
Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#97 of 163 in Tampa
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium
Address: 2055 N Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33607-2542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium 2*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa Airport/Stadium consistently provides the kind of comfort, service and hospitality you expect in a hotel for both vacation and business travelers. Free Scheduled shuttle to/from Tampa Int. Airport 5:15am-11pm, which runs every hour. Transportation also available to Port of Tampa, 10 Dollars Per Person each way. Free Continental Breakfast in Lobby 5:30 a.m.-9:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing