We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hotel conveniently located near football stadium and airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium
Ranked #125 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
262 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Hotel conveniently located near football stadium and airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Nothing fancy about this place but it is a ten minute walk to the football stadium and the yankees spring training baseball stadium. They also offer a free shuttle to and from the airport less than ten minutes away. Rooms are basic. Lots of restaurants adjacent to the hotel including a 24 hour Denny's restaurant and a longhorn steakhouse. Also shopping spots within walking distance. Excellent value for the money. Good place to stay for one night.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciahasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    55
    95
    130
    142
See reviews for
109
95
86
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I was checked into this hotel for about 15 minutes. When I got done bringing all of my stuff in the suite, that's when I noticed how neglected and unclean the room was. The walls were stained in various spots throughout the room, the carpet wasn't fully vacuumed and in the corners looked like it was never touched, and in the bathroom there was a pile of what looked like droppings of some sort that appeared to be coming out of the wall. After realizing how unsanitary the room was, I decided I was not going to be staying and immediately checked out. I guess you get what you pay for...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mg0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotampafl, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel –Tampa for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry that it didn’t work out.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to attempt to stay at Howard Johnson Hotel –Tampa. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

There are some bad reviews here, but let me put this in perspective. I would have rated this below average had it not been for the suprisingly good service. I only stayed here one night en route to catch a ship to Cozumel. The front desk clerk (Jerome) was extremely helpful in sorting out some mistakes I made with the booking. This place was adequate with a microwave and mini fridge. The cleanliness was good. The room itself was dated. BUT for only $50, and needing only one night, I found some value here en route to my cruise. Unfortunately they charge $10 to park here, and the cab ride to the port was $15.80 (still better than the $15 per day the port would've charged) I would recommend that they provide free parking and/or a free shuttle to the port in order the attract a more desirable clientele.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mg4514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Upon first glance, the hotel was not in the greatest location (right behind a steakhouse, and near several strip clubs). The room was older, but had what we needed to get by. I did notice that when walking around barefoot, that my feet became extremey dirty (I wouldn't advise going shoeless!) We didn't really have too many problems with it until the last day when upon getting ready to check-out, my BF had a several bites on his body. We didn't think too much of it, but more and more have continued to show up!! It seems to me like this hotel has a problem with BED BUGS!!!!!!! I definitely wouldn't recommend staying here........

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadowy700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotampafl, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel –Tampa for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Housekeeping staff received additional training concerning the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

2) Maintenance staff was appraised of the bites your boyfriend received and instructed to look into the possibility of bedbugs and if they exist, to see to their elimination.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Hotel –Tampa. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Hotel is located in a horrible are surrounded by strip clubs. Also rooms have roaches, bed bugs and fleas. Staff was useless and stated that the bugs come every summer and that this is FL. Extremeley dissatisfied and finally going home, but covered in bites

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotampafl, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel –Tampa for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Maintenance was notified of your report of numerous bugs. They are to look into the matter and see to their extermination.

2) Staff members received additional training in the courteous, helpful way in which they are to treat our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Hotel –Tampa. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Quite possibly the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Between the birthday party that had to be broken up by the police to the creepy guy in the windowless van drinking beer most of the night, this is the definition of a no-tel motel. The only redeeming thing about the hotel was that they kicked out the scary people, but only after we complained.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigfish758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotampafl, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel –Tampa for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that our staff took action upon your complaint, but I am deeply sorry that such a complaint was necessary.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Management and security staff were approached about setting up security measures that would avoid such situations as you encountered from occurring.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Hotel –Tampa. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I often travel to tampa on business and I find this hotel overall best. I don't have to pay extra for Internet. Also as they have shuttle to/ from airpot it saves two days car rental for me. The staff is all friendly and very co-operative.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shashi0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.8 mi away
Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#96 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
1.3 mi away
Ramada Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium
Address: 2055 N Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33607-2542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium 2*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa Airport/Stadium consistently provides the kind of comfort, service and hospitality you expect in a hotel for both vacation and business travelers. Free Scheduled shuttle to/from Tampa Int. Airport 5:15am-11pm, which runs every hour. Transportation also available to Port of Tampa, 10 Dollars Per Person each way. Free Continental Breakfast in Lobby 5:30 a.m.-9:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing