We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“bot too expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Ranked #31 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa
1 review
“bot too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Compared to other hotels within a mile of the convention center, this was very economical plus they had free shuttle service to and from the convention center and anywhere within a 2 mile driving radius. It would have been nice to have had a microwave and small fridge in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay with us. Thnak you for your business and your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    267
    180
    104
    66
See reviews for
211
169
119
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I chose this hotel on price (less than $100/night for a downtown location during a major trade show) and was surprised by the service and the quality of the room. I chose to walk the slightly less than a mile to the convention center each day, but the hotel offers a free shuttle to anywhere in a two-mile radius. The room was clean and spacious with a fridge and microwave, and I had a great view of one of the canals. The bed was very comfortable. Service in and out was fast and easy, and the elevators worked great. I did not eat here so I can't comment on the restaurant.

Room Tip: I liked the view from my upper-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanREvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown Tampa. We are always glad to hear when a guest is pleased with their stay. Thnak you for your business and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Rooms need to be updated. Toilet seat was old and cracked in some places. During last two nights with heavy rain, window/roof was leaking.
Need to add microwave and refrigerator without charging an extra fee.
Please update television. Didn't know"box" tvs still worked.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so such for your feedback and I really appreciate your high marks for our service. I am sorry that your accommodations were less than excellent. I have messaged you in hopes that you will provide me with some details of your stay so that I amy follow up more thoroughly. Thnak you for your business and your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Check in was very quick and easy. The room was pretty basic and dated. Found a glob of something really nasty on the bathroom doorframe, suggesting that the cleaning crew was not very attentive. The hallways were completely sketchy and there were strange unfinished holes in walls. Long elevator waits. We stayed for the proximity to the Gasparilla Music Festival, which was great because we were so close we could take bathroom breaks back in our room. Food and drinks in the bar were good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry that you found it to be less than excellent. I have sent you a message to obtain more fettles regarding your stay so that I am thoroughly follow up. Thank you for your business and taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#14 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#55 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Property: The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Address: 111 W Fortune Street, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The hotel offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 miles - Tampa International Airport is only six miles from the Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing