We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sold Out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Ranked #46 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    274
    200
    106
    69
See reviews for
217
193
88
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel for the past 3 years for week long trips and the staff is pretty good. I was able to get a new key immediately, the phone is picked up quickly, and our cleaning lady (Beatrice Jones) did a great job. She was friendly and did a lot more than I expected.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
I am so please to hear you enjoyed your week long stay with us at the Howard Johnson Plaza in Downtown Tampa. With the goal of one hundred percent customer satisfaction it's nice to hear when we have pleased a guest. I thank you for your business as well as your time and I look forward to you returning to the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

If you stay here during the academic school year you'll really take your chances as this hotel rents rooms to university students. They just don't tell you which ones!
We stayed here last year without incident but this most recent stay was truly a nightmare.
Loud bass music and voices after 11 pm; then awakened again at 3:23 by a slammed door and constant talking, trips to the bathroom for over an hour. I called guest services twice and even pounded on the wall.....didn't have much effect.
The front desk clerk said she didn't know there were students next to us but that doesn't seem reasonable.she said guest services could have moved us but that was never offered as an option.
So, an otherwise positive experience-we were able to easily walk to the hockey game-was turned into a negative one.
I realize any hotel stay can be ruined by noisy, uncaring neighbours but I would think twice about ever booking this hotel again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joseph62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracyFoley, Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. We are truly sorry about your experience and that you were not offered another room. Please give us a call if there is anything else we can do or if you have any other concerns regarding your stay. We appreciate you choosing the Howard Johnson Plaza and take your comments very seriously, as guest service is our top priority.
Thank you,
Tracy Foley, Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel itself was fine, but the shuttle service to the conference center was horrible. We had to stand outside waiting forever to get a shuttle everyday and most days we ended up getting a ride with a shuttle driver from another hotel who was nice enough to pick us up. The hotel told us to wait at the front entrance, but the shuttle drivers would stop earlier and pick up passengers, so when they got to where we were told to wait, they were already full.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank 52shelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I really appreciate your feedback and am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I certain want to apologize for your less than excellent experience with our shuttle service. Our drivers do their best, but traffic and large volumes of visitors can cause unanticipated delays during large conventions. We continue to add capacity to our own shuttle fleet and I have shared your comments with our Guest Service Manager in order to deliver better service. Again, I apologize for your experience with our shuttle and Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#36 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Property: The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Address: 111 W Fortune Street, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The hotel offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 miles - Tampa International Airport is only six miles from the Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing