We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College Dorm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Ranked #41 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

The location is nice. The staff was super friendly. Rooms were clean and well equipped. However, the hotel is being rented almost entirely by the college across the river. I think floor ten is the only normal guest floor. I'm trying to stay on business and there is no functioning internet bc it's overwhelmed with hundreds of college kids. That being said they didn't have a business room either. Just a couple of desktops sitting in the ridiculously loud lobby full of coeds. The hotel is nice enough and I'm sure would be fine if it wasn't for them being temporary housing for the college. Don't get me wrong the kids were nice and quiet. But it still brought back nightmares of my college dorm room. The staff was nice enough to cancel the reservation and not charge me once we realized the internet did not work. Just spend the extra 25 bucks and stay at the Sheraton down the road until they clear out the kids and finish renovations.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank SwiggT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. Valued guest feedback it the best tool we have to train our associates in a manner that improves the experience for future guests. Thank you for your business and please visit us again so that you may experience the many great changes taking place at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is a very standard hotel. It is very dated and needs to be refurbished. Our room looked like it hadn´t been touched since the 1980´s. Having said that it was clean enough and was somewhere to go to sleep at night. The facilities were pretty poor and again dated. This hotel is also used as a student residence so some of the floors house students and you see them everywhere! All in all it was very average, but I personally won´t be keen to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracyFoley, Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and letting us know what you thought. We appreciate your comments and candidness. If there is anything we can do to ever make your stay with us better, let us know. Again thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson Plaza in Downtown Tampa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

every single person there from the front desk to the maids to the restuarant were so welcoming oh and the shuttle divers were awsome my dad had heart surgry we did a week at hampton inn ybor city it was an awful experience my dad ended up having compications and howard johnsons worked with us the shuttle service was exceptional my mother was also handicapped and they were all right there to help mewe ended up having to stay for 2 weeks

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Adellaide D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown Tampa. We always enjoy hearing when a guest enjoys their visit with us. We are constantly striving to improve the guest experience at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for your business and your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 581Justtraveling2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Floridan Palace Hotel
#100 of 164 in Tampa
254 reviews
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#23 of 164 in Tampa
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#13 of 164 in Tampa
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Address: 111 W Fortune St, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602-3206 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $117 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The hotel offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 miles - Tampa International Airport is only six miles from the Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing