We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great human resources”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Ranked #41 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The frontdesk personnel was fabulous, namely Eneida, Angelica, Carlos, and Jarvis. They make a distinction to the hotel, always ready and prompt to help, or advise. Also the lady serving breakfast efficient and kind. The shuttle service and drivers were outstanding too.

Improvement needs: order and cleanlyness

Room Tip: Nice panoramic view from southwest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Briggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown Tampa. Its always great to hear when a guest enjoys their stay. We pride ourselves on the quality of personnel and their constant desire for guest satisfaction. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 976 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been staying with you for almost a month now on and off for work at local hospital that I work at. Everyone here at the hospital says how great you are because a lot of us stay at Howard Johnson's. I have been pleased up until this past weekend. The room smelled musky and didn't seem clean at all, the beds were made Ubuntu there was a pizza crust on the floor and the bathroom was unkempt. The following morning I went to get coffee from the table top coffee maker and there was no coffee, just the old wrapper from the day before that I used.
I don't normally complain to management but I figured since I was sent this email, I would reply. I do like Howard Johnson's for my stays but very disappointed this week.

Thank you

Vinny Napoli


  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
3  Thank Vinny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you or taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry that you had the one negative experience. We appreciate your feedback and always welcome the opportunity to improve. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

When we first arrived to the hotel, we were greeted by two very pleasant, professional staff members. The check in process was very smooth and quick while at the same time informative. The room was on the top floor and had an excellent view of Downtown Tampa! The room was very clean and comfortable. The overnight manager gave us a later check out, and when we saw the housekeeper, she was very friendly. Overall, I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone else and would stay here again next time I am visiting Tampa! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your review of your stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown Tampa. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed our staff. The entire staff takes great pride in delivering outstanding service and we all enjoy hearing from our most valued guests when we have done so. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Joseph I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Cassandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#22 of 163 in Tampa
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,470 reviews
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Address: 111 W Fortune St, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602-3206 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $102 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The hotel offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 miles - Tampa International Airport is only six miles from the Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing