We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“got this hotel on AA miles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Ranked #42 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I can confirm other review. Some levels are occupied by Tampa University students but they are really keeping quiet at night just keeping elevators busy. Rooms would need some fresh up but for a stop over ok. Car park is charged in addition USD 8.00. Hotel is providing free shuttle to some places in town. otherwise staff was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

We really do appreciate your feedback and value the time it took to review your stay with us. As the winter home for Crew Spring Training and with a location so close to the University of Tampa we are proud to house many university groups including the University of Tampa. Thnak you for your business and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 990 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

It was a comfortable room the only thing I didn't like was the fact that I had to search for my room because the number was gone off the wall and I had to pay for parking to stay at my hotel and when you're vacationing on a budget that's not good but the counter rep did work with me but I don't believe I will stay downtown again but overall the stay was great.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you fro taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Should you decide to stay downtown again I hope you will choose our hotel to experience the many exciting changes that are taking place. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went to a show at the Straz Center - this hotel was in the perfect location. Hotel room was clean and very comfortable. Front desk was very helpful. Had reserved a king room, but the room assigned was a double - they quickly made it right. Used the chaffeur service which took us anyplace we wanted to go in the downtown area at no extra charge. We parked our vehicle and enjoyed Tampa!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomOfThreeOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown Tampa and apologize for the mix up on your room assignment. I am glad to hear they took care of you right away. It is always nice to hear when a guest has enjoyed their experience with us. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the week of spring break. Although I do not always take other people's reviews to heart, this time I have to agree that the hotel itself could use some updating. The elevators were slow (one was broken the whole time we were there.) Students EVERYWHERE! I do not like the floor showers in the rooms. Now for the good points! The complimentary shuttle was very helpful when we were going to places downtown such as Ybor City. The people at the front desk (Eneida and Jarvis) were very helpful and always had a smile on their faces.Chris (in the bar) was very kind and helpful and stored the fish we caught on a fishing trip in the kitchen freezer. The employees were the reason I gave the hotel 4 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanci484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown Tampa. We really do appreciate your feedback. I am pleased to report that since your stay we have competed an overhaul and modernization of all of our elevators and they are now much quicker and smoother. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The room size was good, it was a good value overall. We bought food from the restaurant downstairs twice. There was a problem with our room phone not operating but they fixed it that evening. The elevators worked part of the time, but thankfully we left for the convention across the street in plenty of time to allow for that. The housekeeping staff was friendly and respected our "do not disturb" sign. After getting to the airport, I noticed I had left my macbook in the lobby while checking out. The clerk at the counter noticed it and when I called, sent it to the airport with the security guard. I probably would have missed the plane if I had gone back to the hotel to retrieve the laptop, not to mention the two extra cab fares. That's "above and beyond" customer service!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldbachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

It's great to hear that our staff went above and beyond for you. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown Tampa. Feed back such as yours is invaluable in helping us to improve and recognizing what we are doing well. I am pleased that enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#21 of 163 in Tampa
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Floridan Palace Hotel
#100 of 163 in Tampa
248 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Address: 111 W Fortune St, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602-3206 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $104 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The hotel offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 miles - Tampa International Airport is only six miles from the Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing