We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD AND BAD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Ranked #48 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GOOD AND BAD”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the week of spring break. Although I do not always take other people's reviews to heart, this time I have to agree that the hotel itself could use some updating. The elevators were slow (one was broken the whole time we were there.) Students EVERYWHERE! I do not like the floor showers in the rooms. Now for the good points! The complimentary shuttle was very helpful when we were going to places downtown such as Ybor City. The people at the front desk (Eneida and Jarvis) were very helpful and always had a smile on their faces.Chris (in the bar) was very kind and helpful and stored the fish we caught on a fishing trip in the kitchen freezer. The employees were the reason I gave the hotel 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanci484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown Tampa. We really do appreciate your feedback. I am pleased to report that since your stay we have competed an overhaul and modernization of all of our elevators and they are now much quicker and smoother. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    284
    205
    107
    73
See reviews for
223
202
90
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The room size was good, it was a good value overall. We bought food from the restaurant downstairs twice. There was a problem with our room phone not operating but they fixed it that evening. The elevators worked part of the time, but thankfully we left for the convention across the street in plenty of time to allow for that. The housekeeping staff was friendly and respected our "do not disturb" sign. After getting to the airport, I noticed I had left my macbook in the lobby while checking out. The clerk at the counter noticed it and when I called, sent it to the airport with the security guard. I probably would have missed the plane if I had gone back to the hotel to retrieve the laptop, not to mention the two extra cab fares. That's "above and beyond" customer service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldbachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
It's great to hear that our staff went above and beyond for you. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown Tampa. Feed back such as yours is invaluable in helping us to improve and recognizing what we are doing well. I am pleased that enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I didn't stay at Howard Johnson's, but I did have drinks and appetizers at the Water Works in the lobby of the hotel prior to a concert at the Straz. I was pleasantly surprised at the variety of drinks and the selection of appetizers. I especially enjoyed the Shock Top beer on tap at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tozzie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Waterworks bar and grill located in the front of the Howard Johnson Plaza in Downtown Tampa. We are glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#29 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Bay Harbor Hotel
#74 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Property: The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Address: 111 W Fortune St, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602-3206 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The hotel offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 miles - Tampa International Airport is only six miles from the Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing