We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff, hotel furnishings and decor very outdated.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Ranked #46 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
South mountain, ON.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, hotel furnishings and decor very outdated.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hotel was a bit outdated. One elevator was down when we were there and the others made not so comforting noises when working. Room was fine, but old and outdated. Several of the floors are u of Tampa dorm rooms, so there was a constant stream of "youth" walking through the doors - constant smell of cigarette smoke outside because of them. Even though there were patio tables outside there was no place to sit because of these students. The front desk staff was fantastic. Very informative and helpful. The free shuttle service to downtown was great. We were in town for a hockey game and the hotel wasn't a bad walk from the forum.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown Tampa. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Feedback is so essential to our growth as an organization that we truly value the time you took to provide yours. We are constantly making changes here and I hope you will return soon so that you may experience our wonderful changes as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    274
    201
    106
    69
See reviews for
217
193
88
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is dated and has several floors that are used as college dorms! The bar and cafe are marginal at best (my orange juice arrived with bright red lipstick on the glass, how could anyone miss that). The location is close to the water and near the convention center (1.2 miles). Overall it was clean and they have a schuttle for local destinations (not the airport).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry that you were less than pleased with your experience. We have made many changes since your stay with us and I would love to have you come back to experience the many great changes we that have taken place since your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel, except for its lobby, restaurant /bar area is extremely outdated. The rooms, carpets, and elevators were just plain tired and crying out of an update.
The amount of water being wasted by the outdated toilet tanks was horrendous. They took a long and noisy time to empty and even longer to refill. My sense was that the cleanliness was a but lacking.
Fortunately, we got a fantastic price on two rooms (Flight Network.com), which were spacious, comfortable, and very quiet.
The staff was courteous and helpful and a telephone request for a shuttle pickup in Ybor City was extremely prompt and the driver interesting and helpful.
We enjoyed our scenic meandering walk to and from the Forum, found a nice sports bar after the game, and met many friendly people.
So, if you don't mind staying at an not too classy hotel and don't mind a walk, then this hotel is reasonably central and, compared to other downtown hotel prices, incredible value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoleyT, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

As pointed out our lobby and restaurant/bar have had current renovations and we are also in the process of renovating our hallways and rooms. I am sorry you where not on the completed renovated floors during your visit. . Please let this not be a motive to not stay with us in the future as we continue our renovations.

As we strive at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown-Tampa to provide the best service in the lodging industry it is nice to have our guests' share our accomplishment with your experience. As Downtown-Tampa is a beautiful city I couldn't agree more on how great it is to walk through Downtown. We look forward to a future arrival when in the Tampa area to show off our renovations.

Sincerely,

Tracy Foley
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANDLER
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was in Tampa for a conference for my company, It Works Global. (trinaconner.myitworks.com) The room was clean and comfortable. They were working on the elevators and I had to wait at times but it was ok, I understand improvements take time. Otherwise the staff was very helpful, the shuttles to and from convention center as well as airport were frequent and a very nice option to getting around. My stay there was nice and I enjoyed my time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Trina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoleyT, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown-Tampa on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words and patients regarding our staff and our elevator renovation. We strive to provide the best accommodations in the lodging industry with our entire guest's. We look forward to your next stay with us when in the Tampa area.


Sincerely,

Tracy Foley
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#34 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Property: The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Address: 111 W Fortune Street, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The hotel offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 miles - Tampa International Airport is only six miles from the Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing