We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay - Thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Ranked #41 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was in Tampa for a conference for my company, It Works Global. (trinaconner.myitworks.com) The room was clean and comfortable. They were working on the elevators and I had to wait at times but it was ok, I understand improvements take time. Otherwise the staff was very helpful, the shuttles to and from convention center as well as airport were frequent and a very nice option to getting around. My stay there was nice and I enjoyed my time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Trina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoleyT, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown-Tampa on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words and patients regarding our staff and our elevator renovation. We strive to provide the best accommodations in the lodging industry with our entire guest's. We look forward to your next stay with us when in the Tampa area.


Sincerely,

Tracy Foley
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 993 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FoleyT, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FoleyT, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Joshua E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FoleyT, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

OK - it's not the most expensive in Tampa or real close to the Convention Center BUT it has a great shuttle service and I saved a LOT of money staying there instead of the higher-priced hotels near the convention center. You can almost walk the 10 blocks to the Convention Center but why waste time - take their shuttle.

Rooms were clean and EVERYDAY the maid brought in all new soap and shampoo- you never had to call down to the Desk (which is more than I can say for some of the high-end hotels I have stayed at)

Never ate there - we drove to neighborhood restaurants and had great breakfasts and dinners - WaffleHouse is a MUST STOP down there.

Room Tip: Ask for a King Room and make sure you get a Refrigerator and Microwave. Rooms were quiet and even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PROF_CONSULTANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoleyT, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing your stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown-Tampa on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that our free shuttle service was a great asset to your stay and we hope the next time you are in the Tampa area you will come down and enjoy our WaterWorks Bar & Grill. We look forward to your next trip to Tampa for your lodging needs.


Sincerely,

Tracy Foley
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank MATTHEW F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FoleyT, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

good location for straz - bad restaraunt and there is not where to eat any where close to hotel. room bathroom out dated could be a hazard for some you can not check in until 3:00 oclock not a minute sooner. hotel needs a lot of updating. staff friendly but not on the ball, so do not ask any questions. did not get the type of room i reserved. clerk said we had a king size but when we got to the 14th floor it had two queens. nice view. one elevator was out of order, so it was very slowing getting up and down.

Room Tip: go somewhere else, a/c unit noise is bad. beds a good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bev34464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide with your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry that you had a less than excellent experience. We are constantly making changes here and I hope you will return soon so that you may experience our exciting changes as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#23 of 164 in Tampa
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Floridan Palace Hotel
#98 of 164 in Tampa
250 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 164 in Tampa
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Address: 111 W Fortune St, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602-3206 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $107 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The hotel offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 miles - Tampa International Airport is only six miles from the Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing