We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, but will not stay again.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Ranked #46 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
DALLAS
2 reviews
“Convenient location, but will not stay again.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Under renovation. Only one of three elevators working even then they promised two. Old building. Renovation may help. But, in my opinion needs to be demolished and rebuilt from ground up.

Terrible restaurant. Our group of six placed our order and waited 20 minutes for any of our food to arrive. Then only two received their's. 20 minutes later another couple received part of their order. 20 minutes later my wife and I were told that our order had been delivered to another table by another waiter. Those people ate our food and left without paying - we were told. The waiter was very apologetic and brought my wife the salad she ordered and told me my order was being prepared. A few minutes later he brought me a salad and said my order had NOT been started.

The waiter was great and explained it was the cooks first day. Honestly, I believe he was doing the best he could. I also believe the other waiter took our food intentionally for the other people to eat and leave without paying ( a setup). If it was the cook's first day, he/she should NOT have been in the kitchen without help of some one experienced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoleyT, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown-Tampa on TripAdvisor. We apologize your recent visit was not 100% satisfactory. As we strive to provide the best accommodations we have fallen short during your recent stay. We only hope after all the renovations that you would be willing to return to see all we have done to improve our staff, appearance and rooms. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss further,


Sincerely,

Tracy Foley
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    274
    201
    106
    69
See reviews for
217
193
88
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for the Outback Bowl/New Years and had a terrific experience.

Staff was outstanding, called twice to make sure I wasn't walked because of a sellout and they could not have been nicer.

Housekeeping was also very pleasant the next morning.

Great lobby, decent rooms, horrific carpeting in the halls.

I would absolutely stay here again. Thanks HoJos!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredTheCatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoleyT, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown-Tampa. Your kind words regarding our staff and your experience will be shared and celebrated. We strive to provide excellent service to our entire guest's and we are pleased that it has gone acknowledge. We look forward to your return to see all the changes we are making here at the Howard Johnson Plaza. Again, thank you for sharing.


Sincerely,

Tracy Foley
Assistant General Manager
(813)223-1351 ext 3102
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here for NYE 2012. The front desk was friendly and after running into a deadbolted room that we could not get into quickly gave us a new room. The room I received had a nice downtown view and was clean. While the rooms were not new they did not feel too outdated or old. The hotel lived up to my expectations for its star/price range and I would not hesitate to stay again if the price is reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing downtown have a nice view that can see the river, ones facing north also have a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoleyT, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown-Tampa on TripAdvisor. We strive to provide the best accommodations and services to our entire guest's. We currently are in the process of renovating the hotel and look forward to your return to show off our continued new products.


Sincerely,

Tracy Foley
Assistant General Manager
(813)223-1351 ext 3102
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
607 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is clean. The room's are good size. The price we got on hotwire was very reasonable (under $80). But the hotel is aging..it smells of febreeze... we were woken by cleaning staff at 9:00am in spite of do not disturb sign. The service in the lobby restaurant/bar was terrible and unprofessional. We were there on New Year's Eve and the hotel was stuffed with college kids which added to the unpleasantness. The pool is decent but not heated in winter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PelleasPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoleyT, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your resent experience at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown-Tampa on TripAdvisor. I apologize that your experience in WaterWorks Bar and Grill was less than satisfactory and that Housekeeping woke you in the morning. We strive to provide the best service in the Hotel industry and unfortuantly we feel short to your stay. We look forward to an oppertunity in the future to serve your lodging needs in Tampa.


Sincerely,

Tracy Foley
(813)223-1353 Ext 3102
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#34 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Property: The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Address: 111 W Fortune Street, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The hotel offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 miles - Tampa International Airport is only six miles from the Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing