We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bugs, bugs, bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
Ranked #35 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“bugs, bugs, bugs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I checked in the first day. The second night I got to my room and noticed bugs all over the bed. I mean all over, very tiny.
I went downstairs and the girl at the desk said it was late she would have to call someone.
After about 30 minutes a worker came, he took photos on his phone, made a call to I assume the manager.
I told him Hampton is one of my favorite locations, so as long as I could get another room, that would be fine.
He took me to another room. Before he left I asked me to follow me around while we looked again. No bugs in the bed, but some flying bugs around the lights and table lamps. Again-not a few.

So we ended up at another room and I did not relocate to another hotel.
He said, the front desk said-Don’t worry the manager will make an accommodation to you.

He never called during my stay.
After I left , he said “ we’ll do something for you”. We’ll add additional points to your account. I said fine. He said it would be 2-3 weeks.

On 8/24 I emailed him-no response
Called him on September 3rd, he said “it takes time, give it 2-3 weeks”.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

Would you be able to email me the following information below:

Confirmation Number
Dates of stay
First and last name
Hilton Honors number

I would like to verifiy and check to make sure the points have been sent to your account.

You can email me directly at paul.perez4@hilton.com.

Thank you.

Paul Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    262
    160
    90
    44
See reviews for
219
248
70
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Staff was nice and very helpful. However the general atmosphere and the proximity to "gentlemen's" clubs appears to have attracted at least a few unsavory elements. It is not an appealing atmosphere. Not up to Hampton's standards.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your response on Trip Advisor!

I am sorry to hear that you felt uncomfortable during your stay, because of the "gentleman's club" that is on Westshore Boulevard. I can honestly say, we haven't have had any issues in the past in regards to the situation mentioned above. We do not advertise for them to our Hotel guests, but we do mention all the wonderful restaurants and shopping plaza's near our Hotel. We believe it is a personal choice if a guest decides to attend a gentleman's club or vice-versa, if they decide to stay at our Hotel; as long as guests are not being disturbed.

We hope that you will take this into consideration and will stay with us the next again the next time you are in Tampa.

Thank you.

Paul Perez
General Manager
paul.perez4@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Close to what we needed. Staff very friendly - Baths need updated. Food was good. Beds are great! I enjoyed the pool very much. Was there on a football weekend , so very loud and hard to get a table for B'fest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank pauliner949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review!

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We are looking forward to the next time you are in Tampa. We hope that you will stay with us again!

Thanks!

Paul Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We like this hotel because they have a Park N Stay package for when we fly out of Tampa on our trips. This hotel is nice, clean and has all we need. They also have a shuttle bus to take you back and forth to airport or the mall, Walmart, etc. and you can be assured your car is safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review!

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are looking forward to the next time you are in Tampa. We hope that you will stay with us again!

Thanks!

Paul Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay St. Louis, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We drove in for the weekend to attend The Saints vs. Bucs game. We had a fabulous time. The hotel staff was great. The breakfast was very good and our favorite part was the hotel shuttle. Our driver was fun and helpful. The beds were very comfortable and our room stayed cold which we love. Trip was awesome and the Saints won so that made it even better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review!

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are looking forward to the next time you are in Tampa. We hope that you will stay with us again!

Thanks!

Paul Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rita,GUAM
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stay here August 22 after a long flight from Tokyo via Atlanta. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the shower worked fine. When I left, I forgot my laundry bag with my travelers clothes on the floor of the closet. I realized the loss when I reached my destination in Crystal River, FL. I called the hotel, housekeeping was closed, and spoke with the front desk. They said they would pass my inquiry on to housekeeping and they would call me. The next week, I called again and spoke with Maria Garcia head of housekeeping. She found the lost bag in the logbook but didn't see it in the storage area. I stayed there Sept 18/19 and on check in told the desk staff about the missing laundry bag. They said they would take care of it and a couple of hours later called me the say the bag was at the front desk!! Maria had found it and put it aside in a safe place awaiting my return. I called her the next morning to thank her and she remarked, "This is your house." Employees like this are worth their weight in gold.

Room Tip: I've stayed there a few times and haven't had a noisy or uncomfortable room. I will say the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review!

I will be sure to pass along the compliments to Maria Garcia!

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are looking forward to the next time you are in Tampa. We hope that you will stay with us again!

Thanks!

Paul Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed two nights and we paid very low, the location is closed to a nice mall a lot of good restaurant and to the causeway that goes to Clearwater

Linen was very clean, the room is carpeted but clean, it was just the a/c unit and the dehumidifier that were very noisy at night.

Good mattress and pillow; and nice quilt

The maid was very nice and attentive, the staff as well. Breakfast was simple but they ghave waffles, eggs, some pastries, yogurt and hot coffee. Good start for the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review!

I do want to apologize for the inconvinence in regards to the Dehumdifier and A/C. Next time, if you stay with us, we can remove the dehumdifer or turn it off for your arrival.

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are looking forward to the next time you are in Tampa. We hope that you will stay with us again!

Thanks!

Paul Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore

Property: Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
Address: 4817 West Laurel Street, Tampa, FL 33607-4507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#37 Business Hotel in Tampa
#42 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Hampton Inn Tampa-International Airport/Westshore. Our modern airport hotel in Tampa, Florida is conveniently located in the Westshore Business District next to the International Airport (TPA) with free 24-hour airport shuttle service, free WiFi and free hot breakfast.Explore the Westshore Tampa area with many dining, shopping and nightlife options all within a few miles of our Tampa International Airport hotel. Cheer for your favorite team at Raymond James Stadium just 3 miles away or the Tampa Bay Times Forum just 6 miles away.Our hotel is the perfect place for business or pleasure with a fully equipped business center with fax, printing and photocopying access, swimming pool and onsite fitness center. Attend a conference at the Tampa Convention Center is only six miles from the hotel. Host your entire group from sports teams to reunions in our 133 room hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing