We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
Ranked #27 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Chicago area
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed November 19, 2006

2 adults. 5 nights. Rate: $140 + $17 in taxes, per night. Business (with time for pleasure) trip.

PROS:

The staff was very good. The bellhop/shuttle guys and the front desk guy (Alex?) consistently exceeded expectations.

The hotel was clean and attractive both inside and out.

The room was clean (except shower walls) and comfortable.

The pool and workout facilities are small but nice.

Overall, the breakfast was good and a very nice perk, but the food wasn't great. The atrium area is kept clean and attractive.

A Cuban sandwich with fries from the on site restaurant was tasty and large enough to split for a late/light dinner.

CONS:

The lack of water pressure in the shower.

The shower walls were dirty. (Everything else was clean)

The ice machine on our floor (8th) wasn't working, and showed all the signs of being permanently out of order.

NOTES

Comment on noise:
Noise from the atrium is an issue in the front room of the suite, NOT in the bedroom.

Don't blame obnoxious guests on the hotel:
We had one bad night due to a couple in the next room having an unending, screaming fight, late at night. Eventually, I called the front desk. It took a long while, but they did send security (or were they cops) who took care of the problem.

  • Liked — friendly business environment
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zipzooml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    437
    204
    130
    63
See reviews for
680
173
50
660
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa, FL
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2006

No matter how nice a hotel is, and this one is super nice, the primary mission is to provide a good night's sleep. On this, the Embassy Suites fails miserably, in my opinion.

The hotel has about eight floors surrounding a huge atrium. My room was a suite with a bedroom and a seperate living room with a sofa bed. I was travelling with my two sons and they took the beds and I took the sofa bed.

The problem with an atrium is that the noise from the ground floor restaurants, bar, etc. echos all the way to the top. My room was on the 5th floor and I could hear everything from plates rattling, people laughing, doors slamming, ad infinitum.

I'm a heavy sleeper but this kept me awake at night and woke me up in the morning. Even the "DING DING DING" sound of the elevator call signals reverberated thoughout the cavernous atruim and though the paper-thin wall of my room at all hours of the night.

As I said, the hotel *is* super nice. Their attention to detail is to be commended. Except, as most hotels do, they skimped on the sofa bed. Once again I found myself on a cheap piece of crap of a sofa bed. I will say it was better than the Sheraton in Orlando but still was a pain in the back.

If a hotel is going to offer a sofa bed as part of an expensive suite, they need to provide a decent mattress with it.

If not for the soundproofing issue, I would give this hotel an excellent rating. But, if you need a decent night's sleep for a vital business meeting the next day, or to be refreshed for a day long trip, you'd do well to bypass this hotel.

  • Liked — Free beer
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't sleep on the sofa bed
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jedidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2006

We took a weekend family trip to Busch Gardens Tampa. The hotel was easy to get to, surronded by great restaurants and only a mile from Busch Gardens. The free shuttle was definately one of the highlights! They dropped you right off at the front gate and when we were exhausted from the park, we called the hotel and they picked us up 15 minutes later.
We stayed in a king suite. Good amount of room for a family of 3, but I wouldn't want to try packing more than 4 people in the room. Staff were always polite and helpful. I had one problem with an irratable waiter at breakfast, but I just overlooked that.
We ordered room service one night, a little expensive but the food was by far the best I have had at a hotel.
Our room was clean, the bed comfortable and the TV in the living room allowed my son and I to sleep while my husband watched football. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mamiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for two days while visiting Busch Gardens. The staff was outstanding, rooms were very well maintained and clean. Any request we had was handled immediately and with friendliness. This is the second time we have stayed at the hotel (first time was in March 2006) and both times were fantastic. Many times, hotels in tourist locations are questionable; however this hotel is the exception!!!

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank floridafamilyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2006

I stayed for a week in mid-July along with my wife & 16 year old son.
We found the large hotel very smart looking & very clean. The staff were all friendly & efficient, & the free shuttle bus that will run you to & from all nearby restaurants & attractions was very good (& if you get Tom as the driver you will have a very enjoyable trip). The bus runs on request, with no set schedule, which was great.
Our room was spacious, & equipped with a fridge & microwave (pity there wasn't an in-room safe).
The breakfast was very good, as was the 'managers reception' (free drinks from the bar, plus nibbles, from 5.30 to 7.30pm each evening). The restaurant was also very good.
The pool was clean & the free internet room was a great bonus, as I was unable to buy UK newspapers in the local vicinity.
As we didn't have a car, the only drawback was that if we wanted to go to downtown Tampa or further it meant using a taxi, which can prove expensive.

  • Liked — free shuttle bus, friendly staff, managers reception, cleanliness
  • Disliked — no transport to attractions outside the 5 mile hotel shuttle bus limit other than taxis
  • Tips/Secrets — the 'kash & karry' (supermarket that also sells alcohol) is only a 10 minute walk away (or get the hotel shuttle)
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank manxmanpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Busch Gardens Area
9.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa Brandon
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
Address: 3705 Spectrum Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612-9422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#9 Business Hotel in Tampa
#15 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Tampa- USF/Near Busch Gardens is located less than 2 miles from major Tampa attractions including Busch Gardens, University of South Florida and the Museum of Science and Industry (MOSI). Our guests start their day with a free made-to-order breakfast and end the evening with our complimentary Evening Reception with snacks and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa
Embassy Busch Gardens Suites
Tampa Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing