We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best part of this hotel is the staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best part of this hotel is the staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I travel quite often and have the option to stay at any hotel in Tampa. The USF Embassy Suites Hotel has been my "go-to" for over a year now! From the moment you walk in and meet the front desk personnel such as Alexis, R.J., Lee, & Ryan you will understand that this hotel makes you feel like part of a family. As I'm here work and conduct interviews with University of South Florida Students inside the "atrium" area of the hotel, they have always been accommodating providing us with copies, office supplies, and anything else we need to have a successful business trip! Any time I've had an issue (such as lack of wifi in one of the rooms during a stay) Alexis simply said, "come on down and I'll get you a new room right away!"

On one occasion I recall returning from a long work day. I walked through my hotel room door and saw on the table in our room a plate of crackers with a note that said "check the fridge." I opened the fridge and found cheese, fruit, and even two beers! The hotel staff had surprised my co-worker and I simply because "they wanted to." It was unbelievable. They earned our loyalty that day alone.

The managers reception (free drinks and snacks which are often more than simply chips and dip, last night was sliders and mini-hot dogs) is fantastic. The gym facility is always clean and much larger than most hotels I stay at. I'm able to get my morning run in and then head over and grab the made to order (or buffet) breakfast where Tyrone will make you whatever your heart desires.

I know this must sound like a fake post. However, I assure you I'm reviewing this hotel because they simply deserve it. Herman the security manager and Leslie the new hotel manager even go out of their way to say hello. The staff goes the extra mile and deserves the positive feedback.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Ben D,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us a 5 star review!

We are proud of Alexis, RJ, Ryan, Lee, Tyrone and our entire team and I will share your comments with them.

Thank you again for the review and the positive comments.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    368
    162
    96
    42
See reviews for
554
140
45
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel located in north Tampa within USF campus is a great find and value. Not only is their team very hospitable, they go the extra mile. I witnessed their Director of Sales, Joyce Turner, not only greet guests at the front desk, but check them into their rooms, call for transportation, help them to the elevator and provide hugs. Truly a team approach to everything.

As for sleeping... the rooms are suites so you have room to move around and then some and not only are their beds cozy and comfortable... their room service is awesome. There is much talent within this hotel.

If you find yourself up in north Tampa and want to find a great hotel - Embassy Suites USF is the perfect place.

Room Tip: away from the elevator banks and usually quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlk05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear dlk05,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us a 5 star review!

We are proud of Joyce and our entire team and I will share your comments with them.

Thank you again for the review and the positive comments.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Nice complimentary breakfast (but the pancakes & waffles appeared to be frozen microwave type & not freshly made in the kitchen), but go early as later times present with large crowds. Some décor was worn, but clean. Front desk (D. from Brooklyn), housekeeping, and kitchen staff (especially Gloria) were great. Hotel was filled with sports teams, and some kind of convention, but overall did not seem to present any problems. I had sixth floor room that was quiet. I had a view of the campus and not the amusement park. The sheets were thin and paper-like noisy. I am all for saving money for light bulbs, but several appeared to be either burnt-out or the light switches were not hooked up to anything. The refrigerator temp control knob was totally broken off (but did keep my things cool) and was unbalanced as all my cans would roll out when the door was opened. Nice shuttle service. Hotel located in quiet neighborhood. I used my own Wi-fi hot spot.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nittanylionctr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear nittanylionctr,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us a review.

We are proud of Dalis and Gloria and I will share your comments with them.

Thank you again for the review and the detailed feedback. I will use your comments to make us better.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I use ES for hosting our corporate guests. The Sales staff, Jennifer Grawunde in particular, is amazing to work with. The overall staff are great to work with. We have had several times when guests have either changed plans or shown up unexpectedly and ES is always able to assist us. Their shuttle has saved us several times when we are in a pinch due to weather. I would recommend this ES location to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear evelnadj,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us a 5 star review!

We are proud of Jennifer and our entire team and I will share your comments with them.

Thank you again for the review and the positive comments.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I hosted an event at the USF gym and our players stayed at the Embassy suites. The staff went above and beyond to make the stay A+!! Jennifer and her staff were very helpful and nice. We felt like we were at home. Although it was not part of our contract the shuttle took a few players back and forth from the gym (it turned out to be a pretty long walk and there was a lot of rain that weekend) it was so thoughtful and everyone really appreciated them doing that for us! I will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juldinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear juldinda,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us a 5 star review!

We are proud of Jennifer and our entire team and I will share your comments with them.

Thank you again for the review and the positive comments.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Hotel: This is a very nice embassy suite, the rooms are well appointed and kept clean. The bed was comfortable in the King room we had. Had a air conditioning rattle when the system turned on the first night and maintenance came and fixed it that morning that I reported it and left a note. Did I mention it was Sunday morning?
The public areas are decorated nicely. The breakfast / refreshment area is well designed and handles a moderate crowd.

The reservations: We were part of a room block that was set up through their sales manager Jennifer. the reservation process went smoothly for the group and everything was well taken care of. All questions were answered as we went through the group reservation process to our satisfaction.

I would stay here again when I travel to this area. It is a good hotel for families and for business travel .

Room Tip: Busch gardens fireworks can be seen from south facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laptopjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear laptopjob,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us a 5 star review!

We are proud of Jennifer and our entire team and I will share your comments with them.

Thank you again for the review and the positive comments.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I stayed for 8 nights this summer while on business. The staff and management is clearly focused on customer service. The room was clean, the breakfast and hospitality faire was excellent and varied, and my cabs were always waiting. My only complaint would be that a couple of the machines in the workout room were in disrepair.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear S B,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us a 5 star review!

We are proud of our entire team and I will share your comments with them.

Thank you again for the review and for the feedback regarding our fitness equipment.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa North - Busch Gardens
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
Address: 3705 Spectrum Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#9 Business Hotel in Tampa
#15 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Tampa- USF/Near Busch Gardens is located less than 2 miles from major Tampa attractions including Busch Gardens, University of South Florida and the Museum of Science and Industry (MOSI). Our guests start their day with a free made-to-order breakfast and end the evening with our complimentary Evening Reception with snacks and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa
Embassy Busch Gardens Suites
Tampa Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing