We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Reliable.....airport hotel........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore
Ranked #30 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 715 helpful votes
“Convenient, Reliable.....airport hotel........”
Reviewed July 19, 2007

Good:
- Embassy suites are one of the best hotels for families or if you would like some extra room. Plus you can earn Hilton points.
- Room was on top floor, everything in nice shape, comfortable bed, 2 large rooms, nice Hilton Alarm clock, nice bathroom amenities, free buffet breakfast.
- Check-in staff were friendly and helpful.
- Free parking garage on site.
- Near to a large number of restaurants (ex. PF Chang)
- Balcony

Bad:
- Not to hold it against the hotel, but it is an airport hotel. This isn't near the beach, isn't in the city.......it is...near the airport. Why anyone would want to stay here for an extended vacation is beyond me. Only reason I can think of is that the rooms are large if you want distance from your kids.....just keep in mind you are far away from the attractions (relatively), so you will spend extra time in the car with them.

Overall, this is an average Embassy Suites - nothing special, nothing bad.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank usflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    332
    204
    110
    81
See reviews for
434
198
51
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lacey, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2007

The Embassy Suites- Tampa/Westshore is located directly across from West Shore Plaza, a shopping mall that has some great shops if you forgot anything (ding, ding, I did!), nice restaurants and a food court (try Evos, healthy fast food dining, was great!). The location is great for those who want to be able to walk to eat and who may not have a car. There is a Walgreens and Waffle House very close to the hotel as well. Would be perfect place to stay for those who need to travel in/about the Tampa area, or who are leaving out on a flight the next day since the hotel provides an airport shuttle and business shuttle.

Check in
I think the hotel is going through some personnel changes, as check-in was much slower than I’m used to. They were in the process of training some newer employees, so you need to be patient. I also had requested certain things about the room and confirmed them the night before. When we got to the room, found out that one request was not met so we needed to change rooms. The location of your room is important if you care about outside noise. West Shore Blvd. is loud, so you don’t want to face it. However, on the opposite side of the building if you are close to the elevator you will hear a lot of interstate noise. My suggestion would be to find a room that is midway down the hall or all the way down the hall on the elevator side away from the elevator.

Room
As you walk in the room you can tell the carpet has been changed, which is nice, however the hotel really could use some touch-up’s. The first room we stayed in was nasty, the light switches were just so dirty, couldn't really believe they would let it get that bad. Room we moved to was much better. A lot of other reviewers have noted the hotel is aging, but personally I think with a new coat of paint, a new sofa, kitchen upgrades, upgraded TV’s and maybe some changes in the bathroom, the hotel would be a much nicer place (yeah, what didn’t I suggest?). There is a walk-in kitchen, which is a bit out of place, but features a sink, microwave, small fridge and some counter space for dishes, plates, cups, etc. Worked out fine, as we could store some of the food and drinks we brought with us.

The living area was adequate with a round table and chairs, sofa, another chair and TV. If I was on business, I wouldn’t have loved the set-up as the plug for the internet was on the wall near the table. They might want to ditch the table in favor of a desk, but it depends on the clientele. The sofa was old and should be updated soon. The balcony was fine, although the windows could have used a good cleaning. Was nice to be able to look out at the city, although the noise level was a bit too high with the door closed since we were close to the interstate.

The bedroom was very large. You could probably fit another bed in the room, even with the King sized bed. I found the linens to be fine, was a blanket inside two sheets, which to me is much better than a duvet (allergic to feathers). The bed was a little softer than I like, but was fine. The noise in the bedroom wasn’t anywhere near as bad as the living room as the windows must be thicker. There was a closet with large mirrors that was great. Ironing board was fine, however iron could have been a lot cleaner. Bathroom had a nice large vanity and loved the upgraded soaps, lotion, shampoo and conditioner. Water pressure was so-so and found the shower to be decently clean. Could have used a few more towels, but was fine. TV had a lot of great channels and closed caption. Nice newer alarm clock was easy to set, phones were old school.

Amenities
There is a beautiful outdoor pool with a waterfall that was across from hotel entry (just near the registration) outside. I wasn’t able to visit the fitness center, but we did use the business center often. Had two computers with printer and worked great.

Free breakfast in the morning was down-right incredible! There were just so many choices, make your own waffles, French toast sticks, cereals, bagels, bread, made to order omelets, hash browns, bacon, grits, fruit, oatmeal, coffee, tea, etc. The only thing I would have liked would have been ripe bananas and other types of yogurt. Otherwise, was awesome. And they even provided trays, which was great since my husband isn’t found of getting up for breakfast. Could fill up on breakfast and eat a really late lunch, which came in handy.

Based on the location of the hotel, the layout and space provided in the rooms, free breakfast and free parking, I think this is a good choice if you are in the Tampa area. You aren’t far from 275 and can get over to Clearwater pretty quick, as well as visit the Tampa area or get to the airport. We stayed here due to it being a point saver hotel (Hilton Honors) on the weekend. It was well worth the points!

  • Liked — Location, room size, comfortable, free large breakfast
  • Disliked — Needs painting and some room upgrades
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RedHeadGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2007

I love Embassy Suites and even this one does not have the look of a regular one, our family and friends enjoyed the stay. We stayed one night before and night after a cruise. The rooms were plenty big enough for the 5 of us and I loved the extra room for the kitchen. The rooms had a little cornor outside the bathroom for the hair dryer with makeup mirror. The color scheme would not be my first pick, but it was very clean. The elevators was very fast and never had to wait. Even though they would not take us to the port, the hotel did suggest a service that did and was there within minutes. The hotel also went out of their way to find a place where my husband could buy a birthday cake and ice cream and their driver took my husband and waited for him and brought him back to the hotel. The kids loved the pool and hot tub (which the hotel supplied towels) and I used their washer/dryer facitlity which worked great. The family walked over to the mall that was close by and did some shopping. Overall, it was a great beginning and ending to our vacation.

  • Liked — The pool and hot tub
  • Disliked — The doors on the balnony would not open
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cricket29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples, fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2007

walked in, smelled like a hospital.
if you are going to stay at an embassy suites in tampa, stay at the downtown or busch gardens.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couraggu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2007

This is not a typical Embassy Suite design. The rooms are larger with a separate kitchen area. There is no open atrium to enjoy breakfast. The decor in the rooms need updating and the mattresses/coverings are in special need. My main concern is breakfast. My daughter went down at 9:40 and was not allowed in the breakfast area to even get a left over pastry. I was there around 9:15 and a lady (who did not even speak English) was grabbing my son's and my own plates even as we were eating. Very poor service in the breakfast area. She was there on Friday June 15 but thankfully not the day we checked out on June 16. Other than that episode, the hotel was fine. My daughter and I had a wonderful trip to the International Mall with Jorge as a driver. Convenient location.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — breakfast staff/old bedroom furnishings
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ville girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2007

Stayed here a week in June and have to say the free breakfast and free 2 hour HAPPY HOUR is great deal. The hotel is in a great location to get around Tampa and the rooms are so huge.

For the price you can't beat it!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCGRU
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2007

Was waylaid here due to bad weather in late February up north, and put up by Continental. The room rate paid by continental was $209/night.

As a previous reviewer stated, a little long in the tooth and dated in the overall hotel decor, but was pleased overall.

The suite was large, a whole separate area w/ TV and sofa, a full bar area with minifridge, and two large queen beds in the bedroom area.

Having never stayed at an Embassy Suites, I found the free breakfast (eat all your want buffet plus the made to order omelets) and the manager's cocktail reception (drinks) a plus!

The hotel provided free transport to the airport, as well as anywhere you wanted to go w/in a 2-3 mile radius. Right across the street is a large shopping center, and a few mins down the road the impressive Bay St. shopping area of 200+ stores! Pickups were easy and punctual.

They have a business center, and swimming pool, though my only critique of the pool is that it looked like it needed some cleaning...

As it was only an overnight stay, I didn't get an idea of whether this was close/far to major attractions beaches, etc..

  • Liked — Free food and drink, free transport saved money on cabs, big room
  • Disliked — Decor needs some updating to the 21st century :)
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MCGRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore
Address: 555 N West Shore Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-1923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#43 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from Tampa International Airport, Embassy Suites Tampa Airport Westshore provides warm hospitality for your business or leisure travel. Our 243 all-suite accommodations offer amenities designed for your comfort and convenience. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily and a complimentary Evening reception nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing