We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service for stranded travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Airport
Ranked #100 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
kutztown, pa
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Exceptional service for stranded travelers”
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We recently were stranded in Tampa after returning from a cruise Feb 7.
We docked the morning of Feb 7 knowing that Philly was getting a major snowstorm and also knowing that our Southwest flight had been cancelled, but had not been able to get through to rebook on the ship. After a pretty painless experience at the airport we were rebooked for a flight on Tuesday (told we could maybe change but we took any flight we could get) and were left facing the airport kiosk playing hotel roulette. We normally do not stay at chain hotels hating the sterile inpersonal feeling, but we were stranded so we picked the Quality Inn at random. They had a room and free shuttle so we waited to be picked up.
On arriving we were warmly greeted by Brian and even though it was early he had a room ready for us. We told him about our flight uncertainty and he noted that on our reservation. He even went to the trouble to point out where the Publix was and suggested local eating places. We asked about walking and he gave us a great plan to walk out to the Bay and to enjoy the beautiful local neighborhoods.
When we pulled up to the hotel I was thinking that this is just the type of place we avoid--a chain hotel on a busy street--but Brian changed that point of view with his welcome. True the property is older, even with fresh paint it is what it is. But the room was large, clean and quiet.
We followed Brian's advice and had a lovely walk through Hyde Park, the enjoyed the Superbowl.
The next morning we were able to change to a very early flight on Tuesday and went down to tell Sheila that indeed we had to stay the extra night. We were lucky because with the snowstorms and Superbowl people were scrambling to get home and rooms were booking fast.
I needed help with my boarding passes and Sheila was a gem. Then we needed a plan for the day. Sheila told us which bus pass to buy and highlighted stops for us. As a result we had a wonderful day in Tampa followed by the afternoon enjoying the nice (clean and heated) pool.
Since our flight was early--and the airport might be crowded because yet another blizzard was coming to Philly it was suggested that we get an early taxi, which Allen arranged for us.
So this may seem like a strange review for a hotel. Well physical hotel itself is nothing special, but the people who work at the hotel made our stay exceptional. If you are looking for a reasonable pre-cruise hotel or something close to the airport this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwendysuethurman, Marketing at Quality Inn Airport, responded to this review, April 11, 2010
Thank you for your comments we are please you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to exceed your expectations. At the Quality Inn South Tampa we strive to give our guest the best customer service the Hospitality industry offers. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    93
    62
    27
    27
See reviews for
67
96
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Layton, UT
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We were disappointed right away with this hotel, which is really a converted motel. The room was small and smelled stale. They wanted to charge us $15 per night for a roll-away -- no other hotel has ever charged us for this. We were booked for four nights but stayed one and moved up the road to a different hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcbyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2010

I recently stayed at the Quality Inn South Tampa. I had traveled with a high school soccer team, so the group was large.

The hotel staff went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. They even allowed me to use their commercial washer and dryers to clean the team's uniforms after a very wet game. I have never experienced this kindness before, and I've traveled a lot in the last decade.

Although this hotel does not have the frills of other places I've stayed, it was clean, had hot water, and the breakfast was good. It was a great experience, and my stay did not cost me an arm and a leg. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forauburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyorkTampa, Manager at Quality Inn Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to complete your response on Trip Advisor.

The entire staff that the Soccer Team, parents, coaches, family ejoyed their stay at our location. The Management Staff stives on Excellent Customer Service and Value all Guests' input.

We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

My first visit at this hotel was 3 years ago while still an Econo Lodge and under renovation. Not impressed but needed a hotel and all the downtown hotels were booked. Took at chance last year since it was renovated and was very happy with the results. This year we stayed 3 nights and I was so happy with the value for the price, I will stay here every time I am in Tampa. Nice option from staying at the pricey hotels downtown and is a quick 7-10 minute drive.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kosborne32571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo ny
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2009

hotel was clean with just about everything around it. easy access to other main highways. staff was great and friendly, went out of there way to help us. would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrballz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyorkTampa, Assistant Manager at Quality Inn Airport, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Thank you for responding on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. The Quality Inn South Tampa values your opinion and suggetions for improving our facility.

The staff looks forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards
Allan Keller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We were in town a couple of days prior to Caribbean Cruise to see Bush Gardens - so chose this hotel as it was close to Tampa airport and fairly close to BG amusement/animal park. It was at the end of an oddly angled main street - so hard to find and get out of, but there were lots of stores and restaurants in area. It was not real close to BG, but pretty close to airport. It was gated - so felt really safe - but, not sure why electric gates needed. It has a small but, useful pool. Continental breakfast was not up to par to other QI's we have been, too - but, for this was good economy hotel for price and short stay. Bedding & rooms clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We normally have a hotel pre-arranged prior to our travels, but on this trip, we were unsure when we would reach Tampa and exactly where we would be - so this room we found out of a hotel travel magazine offered at one of the FL interstate rest areas. The front desk staff were very accommodating on getting us the kind of room we wanted (no-smoking room with a king bed) and the price was the best! The bed was very comfortable; the room was clean; and there was no "musty" smells to the room that we had become accustomed to while staying in FL!

If we are ever back in the South Tampa area -- this is where we will stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imagomk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tampa
Best Western Tampa
#49 of 163 in Tampa
465 reviews
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
0.4 mi away
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
2.8 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
1.5 mi away
Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park Hotel
#96 of 163 in Tampa
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Airport

Property: Quality Inn Airport
Address: 1020 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629-5005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is just minutes away from Tampa International Airport, Tampa's Downtown, Cruise Terminal and the Westshore Financial District. One of the closest to MacDill Air Force Base, we are the home to many of our nation's troops and their families while they visit the base. Three miles to the west, you will find a beautiful nine-mile walkway along Bayshore Blvd. Over 200 restaurants nearby, many within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Airport Hotel Tampa
Quality Inn Tampa
Tampa Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing