We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lipstick on a pig !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Airport
Ranked #102 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Put lipstick on a pig and it's still a pig ! This is a renovated old motel with a nice fresh coat of paint. Really small room and dated tiny bath. Window unit air conditioner was noisy. Staff was friendly, couldn't try breakfast buffet because the hospitality room was too small, too crowded with not enough tables to serve all. Not a good value, but was convenient to airport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikado5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 280 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2014

Juan, the guest services person was more than helpful from the time he gave me precise directions as to where to go to get the shuttle service at the airport to the time I arrived at this Quality Inn. Juan shines naturally in his customer service skills. And I am very picky when it comes to this as I am a corporate trainer with my own business in teaching customer service. After I arrived at the hotel, Juan was polite, cordial and very professional in taking the time needed to explain and show me the space I was to use for my meeting for the next two days. If there was an above and beyond award, Juan should get it. You are lucky to have him. Definitely cares about the people and the company he works with...definitely great leadership and management qualities.
John C.

Room Tip: Get the King size bed room (226) at the end corner, 2nd floor closest to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seetheobvious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Don't expect much from this hotel and you will not be disappointed. Front desk is personable. Rooms are clean-ish (at a superficial glance). Rooms open up to the parking lot - this, I deem, makes the hotel less safe. Close to airport. They advertise how much everything in their room costs (should you be inclined to take something) - this drops their quality automatically.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RunningGatorDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Booked our room with Choice Hotels just for the convenience of Snooze&Cruise since we were leaving the following morning for a Tampa Cruise. Room was very nice...loved the bed...hated the pillows. Bath was very comfortable and clean. Room was very nice and quiet. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WHStoneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed at the Tampa Quality Inn for a pre-cruise overnight stay and to take their reasonably priced shuttle to the pier. The rooms and beds are comfy, the staff is friendly (kudos to Joe at the front desk and David the driver) and the complimentary breakfast is a nice touch. The location is excellent with a Publix down the street so you don't need to drive to pick up groceries/snacks/alcoholic beverage. Having a frig and microwave in the room is a great bonus and we plan on staying there multiple days when we travel to Tampa for the next cruise - we'll probably even take advantage of the pool!. As one of the staff stated "..the Quality Inn is like an 80 bedroom bed and breakfast..".

Room Tip: We had a first floor room which wasn't noisy but some people are more fussy then us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had 3 families coming from various locations to stay overnight before a cruise. Although the property is dated and nowhere near the airport, it was reasonably priced and the free shuttle from the airport was much appreciated by all the family members. Staff were friendly and helpful and a shuttle to the port for our cruise was easily arranged the next day. Room amenities are good - mini fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and free WIFI. We were referred to a good restaurant next door the evening we arrived and a more than adequate breakfast was included in the price the next morning. The only issues we had were that the rooms are very dark since you need to keep the curtains shut so that other guests walking by won't look in and that other guests were standing around outside smoking and carrying on very loudly. Apart from that, the property was good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andra905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

FUGETABOUT the Quality Airport on Dale Maybry! We had an advanced reservation although this hotel was booked on Friday nite for a convention in Tampa. We ate at Mise En Place for the best meal and ambiance possible! Took in The Jersey Boys at the Straz Center! What a perfect Evening! Mistake was changing my room from 1st floor to 2nd at check in. Our absent minded front desk clerk did not enter us in the box after key card issue! Getting back to our room a bit after 11pm we had a hard time getting to sleep as you are near an intersection on Dale Maybry! Lots of traffic noise with late nite rice burner racing! Chasing the bikers are those crusiers with sirens! About 12:30am we have someone trying to enter our room with a key card! Without opening door I let him know he had the wrong room. Through our closed door he apologized saying front desk gave him this room! Ten minutes later front desk called "Sorry to bother you sir but can you tell me your name? HEY WE CHECKED IN AT 3PM TODAY? So sorry sir could you please verify your phone number at check in? So sorry to bother you!!!!! Needless to say we didn't sleep much after that!!!! Front desk didn't warn us that our key cards will not work tomorrow morning because our room was sold to someone else so we were locked out after breakfast! We did get a $15 refund, "BIG DEAL" they should have refunded the ENTIRE ROOM FEE!!!!!!! STAY AWAY FROM THIS ONE!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank T0pspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tampa
Best Western Tampa
#52 of 164 in Tampa
502 reviews
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
15.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
6.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Tampa Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Airport

Address: 1020 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629-5005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: $82 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is just minutes away from Tampa International Airport, Tampa's Downtown, Cruise Terminal and the Westshore Financial District. One of the closest to MacDill Air Force Base, we are the home to many of our nation's troops and their families while they visit the base. Three miles to the west, you will find a beautiful nine-mile walkway along Bayshore Blvd. Over 200 restaurants nearby, many within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Airport Hotel Tampa
Quality Inn Tampa
Tampa Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing