We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tampa Inn Near Busch Gardens
Ranked #136 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Tonight I was assigned room 211 and was horrified by the condition of the room. Filthy carpet, bed spread had cigarette burns, the beds and the furniture need to be taken to the dump, there was an 'easy' chair that looked like a cat had mauled it. After 3 minutes I got the hell out. The room smelled nasty.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 584 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

First of all, one of the lights was broken. Second, there aren't any outlets that aren't already occupied, so in order to use one, you need to unplug something. The room was dirty under and behind all of the furniture: the dust made my allergies flare up like crazy and while I was sleeping, some strange sticky ball stuck itself to my arm. Also, it's not as close to the entrance of Busch Gardens as you might think! Even though it's across the street from the park (you can see SheKra from the hotel), the entrance is a 0.5 mile walk. To make things worse, the hotel doesn't have luggage storage, so if you're going to BG the day you're checking out, you need to bring your luggage with you to BG (which, thankfully, DOES have luggage storage). So if you're going to BG, stay at the Holiday Inn or LaQuinta which are right next to Days Inn and have a more pleasant stay (and make that 0.5 mile walk a nice one by not having to tote your luggage around!). Also, even the non-smoking room smelled like cigarettes!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
3  Thank Febrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

As an older hotel, you have to expect that the carpet will have stains / high-traffic wear. Room #251 didn't strike me as unclean when I checked-in. I didn't feel unsafe, nor was there an inordinate noise level. However, the HVAC unit never would get warm / hot; cold air was all that was available. In the bathroom: at first it seemed that hot water was also not on the menu. After an extraordinary amount of time, though, you could've scalded a chicken! I was booked there from Monday night through Thursday morning. My room was tidied-up by housekeeping on Tuesday while I was away at my training class. The next day however (Wednesday), when I returned to the room at 4:30 p.m., I was disheartened to find that housekeeping hadn't touched the room. No made bed. No fresh towels. No replenished toiletries. Nothing. What hotel does business like this?? If you don't care about having your room attended to daily, then the rest of the amenities aren't really unbearable. I think that something like housekeeping being sporadic, though, is concerning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Got a room for the night just to sleep and the room smelled old and mildewy! The floors were dirty, we wouldn't even walk around the room barefooted! but thank god the sheets looked clean! Bad experience! I will always ask to see the room first from now on!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank GrassHopperBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We checked in on Monday 11/11, the room was a bit old and worn. Tried to turn the tv on, nothing. The remote, not working. The coffeemaker missing the tray for coffee. Went to the front desk, she put In new batteries,nothing. We were so tired, said forget it. Next day the clerk notified maintenance and the maid. Well we left, came back. The room was clean no working remote. I went to the office told the clerk I was in the room, please call maintenance. Waited an hour no one came. Long story short, room was horrible, maintenance was worse, maids were so so,desk clerks were ok also. I would not stay again even for free..

Room Tip: Don't go here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratlpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank jrod440
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Busch Gardens Area
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Inn Near Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Inn Near Busch Gardens

Address: 2901 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612-8731 (Formerly Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: $62 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tampa Inn Near Busch Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tampa Inn Near Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn West Of Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Days Inn Tampa
Busch Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing