We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Condemn it and start over” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens
Ranked #133 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Condemn it and start over”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Worst hotel I have EVER stayed at. Absolutely disgusting! Bathroom full of mold, grout full of who knows what. Dirty towels, stained sheets, moldy a/c, tv remote didn't work, bed was uncomfortable hard and lumpy, huge cracks and water damage to the ceiling, seedy characters in the parking lot, loud groups of unchecked riff raff. No coat of paint or change of sheets could possibly help this dump. The entire building was falling apart. Huge cracks in the concrete and the room was leaning. (At first we just thought we were crazy, but a ball placed on the floor anywhere in the room rolled toward the wall with the door) When we woke the next morning, walked down the moving balcony area, we looked at the building and sure enough you can clearly see its all sagging down.

If I hadn't pre-paid for the room, I would have left immediately. I would have rather slept in my car, and would have if I could have fit 4 people to sleep and wasn't worried about the ne'er do well parking lot hang out.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirenia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwestofbuschga, Webmaster at Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Days Inn West of Busch Gardens for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the Mold in the bathroom, Dirty towels, stained sheets, moldy a/c, TV remote, hard bed, huge cracks and water damage to the ceiling and instructed to see to the needed repairs or replacement.

• Management and desk staff was reminded of their responsibility to see to it that our valued guests remember to be thoughtful of their fellow guests.

We take our reviews seriously. I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Days Inn West of Busch Gardens. I think you will be very pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    61
    94
    292
See reviews for
200
94
33
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I came here thinking it was going to be "average" at best! But knowing that "u get what u pay for." When we came we discovered a hole in the bedroom wall, stuffed with toilet paper..dirty advertisements left from the last guest, including one that stated, " just hang up your towels and use them again..and leave the bed for us well make it with the same linens..." There was something gross spilled on that piece of paper..let alone the message it gives. Two of our light bulbs were not working, our notepad by the bed had pages of notes written from the last guest and don't get me started on the not so friendly front desk person when we came! No smile, no welcome greeting, no personality! I WILL NOT come again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gin81806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwestofbuschga, Webmaster at Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Days Inn West of Busch Gardens during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate the review and we take it quite seriously- for improvement.

At the outset, our apologies for the bad experience you had howsoever.

We are investigating your observations with the hotel staff and shall take all necessary steps to offer the best.

We also have given special training and instructions to the hotel staff to offer the best hospitality to our guests.

Maintenance was informed of the problems you experienced and instructed to see to the necessary replacements of non functioning light bulbs

We assure you and request you to consider staying with us in future and have a new satisfactory experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I think of myself as being broadly tolerant of crappy motels at low prices. If the room is reasonably clean, safe and free of biting insects then I'm usually happy. In this case, the room was both dirty and unsafe.

Most of the electrical outlets in my room were completely detached from the wall with exposed wires hanging out (see photo). This room would be completely unsafe for anyone travelling with a small child, and there is even a risk of electric shock to an adult plugging in a laptop or phone charger. The risk of fire or shock is enormous and immediate and this room should not have been occupied by anyone. If other rooms are in a similar state, the motel should be shut down by a building inspector or a fire marshal.

The furniture was in poor condition and the desk was literally falling apart (see photo). Housekeeping was poor. There was filth, including a big collection of public hairs, behind the bathroom door (I'll spare you a photo of that).

The best that I can say is that the staff was friendly. I get the impression that they just don't have enough people or budget to adequately maintain such a large number of rooms.
.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steamrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwestofbuschga, Webmaster at Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Days Inn for your last visit to our area.

We also thank you for giving us a review and it is very much appreciated.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

Hotel upkeep staffs have ensured that all amenities are perfect and functional.

Special actions have been taken to check all the electrical fixtures are sound and safe..

We invite you once again to stay with us and experience a new hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
8.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Tampa - Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa N - Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens

Property: Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens
Address: 2901 E. Busch Blvd/I-275, Tampa, FL 33612 (Formerly Days Inn West of Busch Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern - Near Busch Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn West Of Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Days Inn Tampa
Busch Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing