We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value Clean and recently renovated Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport
Ranked #60 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great value Clean and recently renovated Courtyard”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed at this Marriott for about a 2 month period for a work assignment and was happy with my stay. Overall the staff was friendly and responsive whenever I had an issue which was not often it was addressed. The hotel was clean and recently renovated in the lobby. The rooms were fairly up to date as well. Below are some thoughts:

Location
The Courtyard is located at a pretty busy intersection. There is construction on Westshore and so there are a few detours to the on ramp for the highway. If you have to be somewhere at a certain time then you should build in some lead time for the highway detours. The detours weren’t that bad but if you are not prepared for it then it could be annoying. The location was pretty quiet and I didn’t have complaints about much noise.
The Yankees spring training stadium is also not too far away. It’s about a 5-10 minute drive.

Food
The courtyard has a bistro but the food is not that great. It’s a courtyard and so I don’t expect the food to be amazing. However, there is a Brickhouse restaurant right next door to the hotel. There is actually a gate that provides a shortcut. The food is pretty good and they have a pretty decently priced happy hour- half off appetizers and inexpensive drinks. There is an also a mall nearby that has the Cheesecake factory, Capital Grille and the Blue Martini. There is also a Brazilian Steakhouse nearby.
Transportation
You definitely need a car if you want to get around. The hotel does have a shuttle that can take you to the nearby attractions and restaurants including the mall but you will have to wait to be picked up depending on how busy it is. The shuttle also takes you the airport.

Amenities
The Courtyard has an outdoor seating area, pool and exercise room. The exercise room is fairly small with only about 4 machines. There is also a game room that has tennis tables. I honestly didn’t use the amenities that much and so I can really speak to how great they are.
The rooms do have free internet which was a standard connection. I have a hotspot and so I typically prefer to use it instead.

Staff/Customer Service
The staff was pretty friendly. I had an issue during one stay about the cleanliness of my room upon arrival and it was addressed in a professional manner. I’m not one to form an opinion about an establishment due to one mishap but I will form an opinion based upon the response to the mishap.

If you are looking for an affordable, clean and fairly new location to stay in Tampa then this courtyard is a great location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly M, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for the great feedback on your recent stay with us. I am so glad that the rooms, our staff and our overall location worked well for you. As you mentioned we are pretty accessible to a lot of restaurants and shopping nearby, with a tropical pool and Courtyard area to relax in. I will definintely share your feedback with my team. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    93
    51
    24
    5
See reviews for
64
61
23
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OHIO
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I went down here for a conference in November 2013. Paid $89/night for three nights. I thought the hotel was very nice and that the location was solid; it's about 15 minutes to downtown with traffic and is much cheaper than staying downtown. Easy access to the airport and to bridges to Clearwater/St. Pete.

I didn't understand the previous comment about no wi-fi in the rooms. I had free wi-fi in my room and it worked well. The hotel has been recently updated, so that's a plus. Parking could be a little dicey here, but I was able to find parking fairly late on all 3 nights. Pool seemed nice, and I think there is table tennis here, so your kids have some potential recreation options within the hotel if you're looking to stay here instead of somewhere more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly M, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel. We really appreciate the feedback. I am so happy that you enjoyed the rooms, pool area and the table tennis options we have for families. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

No WiFi in the rooms. Must go to lobby for internet access. No WiFi in convention rooms either. Fitness Center: 2 of 3 elliptical machines did not work. I expect much more from a Marriott. For this level of amenities, I could have stayed (and paid) for a Motel 6.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith_rik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly M, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank yo for the feedback on your recent visit to Tampa. I am so sorry that you did not have a good experience while here. I am not sure if the feedback given was for the Tampa Westshore Courtyard by Marriott or another Marriott in our area -as we do not have 2 elliptical machines in our exercise room and we do offer compliementary wi-fi everywhere in the hotel including our 2 meeting rooms. However whether it was our Courtyard or another Marriott in Tampa your feedback is very valuable and we will use it to ensure our guests have a great stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I recently stayed here on business at a night rate of $229. I was asked on checking in if I minded a room change as the ones that had been booked were not available. I was awarded with a room with a king-sized bed. This was ok until I found that my room faced the highway and there was construction going on. I immediately understood why they had room vacancy problems. Hearing the sound of a back up horn until after 11p and then again beginning at 4 am did not lend itself to a restful atmosphere. The bathroom area was small and VERY poorly lit. The room otherwise was very typical of this chain. It was clean and well kept with the exception of the carpeting which appeared to be quite old. The other issue that I had was the air/heating unit being horrendously loud when it went on and off. I left a note for the housekeeping staff and the maintenance staff promptly took care of the issue for me, and went so far as to leave me a message on my room phone that if it was not to my satisfaction to let him know. It was fine until about 2am when it began acting up again, at which point I turned it off (again). I did leave another note on checkout. The Bistro was nice however after traveling all day you do not necessarily want to wait on yourself. Breakfast was good and of course Starbucks Coffee choices were fantastic. Security was apparent and that made me secure. Overall this hotel was a bit more than I would have spent given that it is only a Courtyard. Add to that the room noise from traffic (motorcycles were very common during the night) and construction, one would definitely want an inside/pool side room.

Room Tip: Ask for an inner room facing the poolside. The outer rooms are VERY noisy and you hear traffic all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly M, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback on our hotel after your recent visit. I am so sorry the highway construction and AC noise prevented you from getting a good night sleep. I can certainly understand your frustration and have been in contact with the crew to alleviate this issue. I appreciate the feedback so we can continue to improve our hotel and service. Thank you for the great comments on my team, and I do hope you come back for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this Marriott property after attending a spring training game at George Steinbrenner Field. As stated on their website, the rooms have been recently renovated and they are clean, comfortable and well located to I-275 and local attractions. There is also a Brickhouse Tavern and Tap room right next door which makes dining easy for a burger and beer. My issue with the hotel was the service. As Platinum Elite members (we have stayed at Marriott properties over 130 nights last year) we asked for an upgraded room, being we were assigned to a first floor room. We were advised there were none available. We also were offered the choice of a small bottle of wine or a Starbucks coffee in the morning. At other Marriott properties a free breakfast is normally included for this category of membership. We opted for the coffee, but the next morning upon leaving the hotel, we requested a latte and was first denied it because our room number was not on the list, then told that only a small drip coffee was included.
First, it occurs to me that if you have reached this level of membership, breakfast should be included. There are many other hotel chains that offer this with no membership of any level required, secondly, having to wait for the employee to "verify our coffee is included with our room" was embarrassing. There were two of us, and we asked for ONE latte. In my opinion, the employee should simply fill the request and satisfy the customer. I don't think the manager would have a problem with that, in fact, I would think he/she would encourage his employees to accommodate the customer with such a small request rather than allow them to leave with a "bad taste in their mouths" so to speak.
In any event, we left there wondering why we chose a Marriott that offers it's elite members nothing instead of another property that not only includes breakfast, but actually strives to make their customers happy.
All that being said, it was still deserves a "very good" rating as far as the property itself.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor. Rooms on first floor near pool need to have drapes drawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsjag28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james f, Manager at Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback on your recent visit to our property. I do apologize that you were only able to receive one free coffee in the morning. As for the breakfast Courtyard Brands aswell as most Marriott Resorts do not offer free breakfast anymore as of 12/31/13. Im very proud that you enjoyed your room and stay overall and we look forward to having you back again. Thank you again for the feedback and the opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed one night at a rate of US$169 + tax =$189 booked off the Marriott website.

It's a decent example of a Marriott Courtyard. Comfortable, wifi worked, etc. You know what you are getting.

Small pool in a central courtyard and a small gym. There is a restaurant/bar next door and a reasonable selection of other food outlets including a WaWa a short walk away. Having said that, he location has nothing special to recommend it - it's just a hotel by a freeway.

I chose the hotel as i need to be in the Tampa area and it was the best cost/location for my needs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james f, Manager at Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for the great review! I will be happy to share your responses with my team. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Quick look: Clean and comfortable as expected with this popular chain owned by Marriott. The real winner at this location is the helpful and welcoming staff / management.

In depth review: Had a one night stay in Tampa before heading out the next day to visit family in Madeira Beach. First of all we got off our plane and collected our luggage, I called the airport and requested the shuttle service. The driver appeared within 15 minutes and the driver was very friendly and helpful. Wish I caught his name but he was a longtime Tampa resident (wore glasses) and pointed out the notable landmarks we passed on the short trip back to the hotel. The shuttle driver said the vehicle was available until 11pm and that he would happily take us to dinner at the nearby mall, said to just come down to the lobby when we were ready to go.

The lady at the check-in desk was very friendly and was expecting us. Took me maybe 3 minutes to collect the keys and be off to the room. Room was modern and clean. Very comfortable, had a balcony that overlooked the busy 275 freeway (oh well). Note: you cannot hear the highway when the sliding glass door is closed.

When we came down about 90 minutes after checking in we were told that the driver had just stepped out for his dinner break. The front desk manager named James was apologetic and offered to call us a taxi cab. After hearing that a cab would take up to 30 minutes and we would not make our dinner reservation, James offered to take us to the restaurant. We accepted his kind offer. James was a total stranger and went out of his way to make sure my wife and I made it to dinner on time, this is true hospitality. James seemed to know everyone including guests checking in and people at our restaurant. This guy is a true asset to this company and we thank him for stepping up like that!

Later that night the original shuttle driver picked us up after our meal and returned us to the hotel.

Removed a star as the room had a few issues that should be addressed like: weak water pressure and a jumpy cable television picture.

The next day we were able to check out quickly, grab a Starbucks coffee at the Bistro in the lobby and be off. Some great people working at this Courtyard by Marriott and I am happy to recommend them and return on our next visit to Tampa.

Room Tip: Backside of hotel overlooks the busy 275 freeway, ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly M, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel, our staff and especially James. I have shared your feedback with James and my entire team. I hope you will come back to see us on your next visit to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
0.7 mi away
Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport

Property: Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport
Address: 3805 W Cypress St, Tampa, FL 33607-4802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tampa Westshore/Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Marriott
Tampa Courtyard
Courtyard Tampa Westshore Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing