We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lose the napkins.....please!”

Acropolis Greek Taverna
Reserve with OpenTable
Acropolis Greek Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #177 of 2,407 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Acropolis Greek Taverna serves New Tampa and the University of South Florida area. It features a full bar, casual "tavern-style" dining and entertainment. This location hosts entertainment including bouzouki and belly dancing on the weekends.
Stony Lake
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lose the napkins.....please!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I loved the food here. Had Gyro's and Greek beer and I was truly stuffed when I left. I found the Greek style dancing by the wait staff amusing until they started tossing the napkins. Old napkins dangling over my table and from the walls didn't make a positive impression.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    53
    23
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Endicott, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek food!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We've been here 5 or 6 times in the last 5 years. We've always had excellent food. Our last visit, there was an apparent communication issue between the waitstaff. Consequently we had about a 10 minute wait before anybody waited on us. The waitress was very apologetic almost to the point of being overbearing. This was the only problem we have ever had and as usual the food was delicious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chall2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLA.
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lively Greek Food and Music”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Festive atmosphere and great food and service. Reasonable prices and diverse menu of greek and mid-eastern food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JOHNJAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tampa tries Greek”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The food and service is great, but they're trying too hard with throwing the napkins in the air.

We came to Tampa not knowing any place to go and stumbled on this place. The thing is Greek food is so good it's hard to not like it, and we did like it- but I wouldn't try impressing anyone here unless they think Bennie Hannna's is real Japanese. The place has charm, and it's an evening of waiters dancing, but it would have been better with just live music.

After 48 hours in Tampa this place is the best food we've eaten- but Tampa doesn't set the bar real high.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieNJ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretty good Greek food..”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Ate lunch here while in Tampa and its a pretty cool little restaurant! We had the gyro wrap and it was pretty good but not great...Looking around, I think we should have ordered something besides that because the kebabs looked amazing!

Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acropolis Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Acropolis Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing