We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tijuana Flats

Tijuana Flats
Ranked #818 of 2,368 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The "Anything Goes" approach to food, wall art, hot sauce & life in general.
Algona, Iowa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not what we expected....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were looking for a Mexican Restaurant and decided to go here since it was close by and had good reviews. The service was excellent! We were greeted immediately upon entering the restaurant and had great service throughout our meal. The presentation of our food was very pleasing to the eye. Although the food was very good, it was not what we really considered to be Mexican food. There was a hot sauce bar with a wide variety of types and heat to choose from. The decor was very unusual for a Mexican restaurant..(the bathroom had something to do with watching out for zombies). It was an interesting place to go, but it would not be at the top of my list to return to.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TijuanaFlats, Public Relations Manager at Tijuana Flats, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Rita P, thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our service and fresh Tex-Mex but sorry that our decor was not what you expected to see. If there is anything we can do to help, please email us at Social@TijuanaFlats.com. We would greatly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My family goes here almost every week and we are never disappointed with the service or the food. This restaurant has unbelievably good service every time we are here. I love it there, it has great Mexican food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirltampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TijuanaFlats, Public Relations Manager at Tijuana Flats, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for that awesome review, @Travelgirltampa! We really pride ourselves in our customer service and food, we can't wait to have you and your family back next week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh food - really good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have visited the Carrollwood location several times for lunch. The food tastes fresh, it is a good value and the restaurant staff are very helpful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie Mead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TijuanaFlats, Public Relations Manager at Tijuana Flats, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, @Maggie Mead! Its great hearing that you enjoy our food and service at our Carrollwood location! Come back and see us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Horrible food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The service was excellent - however the food is so horrible and extremely boring. I will never go back to this place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S1982p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TijuanaFlats, Public Relations Manager at Tijuana Flats, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
@S1982p - We're sorry to hear you had such a negative experience with us. If you'd like to discuss the details of your visit please email us at Facebook@TijuanaFlats.com and we will be sure to suggest something more suitable to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“So glad we chose this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We are vacationing in Florida, staying in Orlando. We went to Tampa for the day to go to Busch Gardens and wanted something on the way back to Orlando. This is close - maybe 2 miles? Excellent food and super friendly staff. Some of the "artwork" is a bit off color, especially for kids, but nothing too egregious. Stupendous choice for great Mexican fare!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bost48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TijuanaFlats, Public Relations Manager at Tijuana Flats, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
@bost48 - Thanks for the awesome review of our Tampa location! We're pleased you chose to dine with us on our way back from Busch Gardens and happy you had such a good experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tijuana Flats also viewed

 

Been to Tijuana Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing