We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay For A Budget Hotel, But Bring Your Own Towels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
Ranked #90 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Okay For A Budget Hotel, But Bring Your Own Towels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My daughters and I stayed here for two nights over the July 4th weekend. Upon checking in, the first thing I did was check the number of towels in the room based on all the reviews stating that there is never enough. Sure enough, there were only 2 towels for 3 people. I went back to the front desk & she took my name and room number & told me housekeeping would drop off an extra towel. Six hours later when we got back from Busch Gardens...no extra towel, which meant only 2 of us could shower. The next day I left a couple of bucks for housekeeping with a note requesting 3 towels, and she did leave 3. Since this is an ongoing issue, I don't see why they can't just purchase more towels. The towels themselves were the same quality you get at the dollar store, so it's not as if it would cost much to order more.

My daughters slept well in the bedroom with the door closed. Unfortunately I slept in the front room on the sofabed. The way the hotel is designed, almost all of the rooms directly overlook the pool area. The noise coming from the pool area was incredibly loud, and it went on into the late hours of the night. Fortunately I had ear plugs with me, but I still had a difficult time falling asleep. If you didn't need the sofabed, I don't think the noise would be a problem - it didn't bother my kids at all.

The room is bigger than most budget hotels, and included a mini fridge and a microwave. The channel selection was horrible - the only channel for kids was the Cartoon Network. There were very few channels to select from - maybe 15 or so. We didn't have any issues with bugs, and I thought it was reasonable clean for a hotel in this price range.

The hotel is halfway between Busch Blvd and Fowler Ave, so it's in an area that slightly better than Busch Blvd, but not as nice as Fowler Ave. It is in a much quieter area than all the hotels on Busch Blvd. I didn't feel unsafe getting back at 10p alone with my girls. Both times we were able to park very close to the lobby entrance when we returned.

We thought the free breakfast was bad enough that the second day we opted to eat breakfast at McDonald's. There was a variety of small boxes of cereal; hard boiled eggs; small, stale muffins; bread, bananas & apples, yogurt, and a waffle maker. The coffee was horrible.

I originally booked a room at Wingate by Wyndham on Fowler Ave for this trip, but decided I didn't want to spend that much money for a room we were hardly going to be in. If you are going to be spending the entire day at Busch Gardens, and only using the room to sleep in, then Baymont Inn is fine. It's certainly better then the Quality Inn on Busch Blvd that we stayed at last time. If we decide to go back to Busch Gardens again, I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenBee9801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    404
    385
    230
    200
See reviews for
811
284
69
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Checked into room #1300, the carpet was disgustingly filthy, there was mold on the ceiling from water damage from upstairs room, the mgr moved us to another room. It was better but there's still mold in the bathroom, the carpets were dirty and there were bugs! There is NO room service as they advertise. The bar at the pool was NOT open for business! The pool was filthy with bugs, dirt, leaves. the mgr said its from the palm tree right by the pool. the truth is they didnt clean the pool! They advertise a heated pool... NOT heated! they advertise a gift shop... NO gift shop! The maid service was horrible, gave us fresh towels but not washclothes! The maintenance guy said "that's not mold, it's just mildew"! The mgr said "well it's not the Hilton"! Will never stay at a Baymont Suites or Wyndam property again as this was completely unacceptable!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnD1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The room was okay. It had amenities you would want and enough room to sleep 5 if you use the sofa bed. There was a family reunion going on the night we stayed and they were all out enjoying the pool area. My kids were too intimidated to try the pool due to the large crowd, but it looked nice. The breakfast was also good.

The wifi was horrible. Everytime it connected it would immediately stop working. I called about it and she said all they could do was restart the router. It worked better maybe one minute then not again.

There were fire works set off at 10 pm July 6th in the parking lot. I put on the sound machine shortly after this and the kids and I slept fine but my husband was in the front room on the sofa sleeper and apparently there was a fight right outside our room and then the police came and handled it right outside our room.

Also when we were first going into our room this man passed by and stopped by us and stared at us. Made us very uncomfortable. No fault of the hotel of course but it may tell you about some of the clientele.

The breakfast was fine in the morning but again the family reunion people were there so it was quite busy. Again, nothing against the hotel.

The room was outdated except for a new shower.

The experience left me uncomfortable enough that I wouldn't recommend it. Oh and they added a fee of $1.50 at the last minute on my bill for the safe in the room we didn't use. Of course, not much money but never even mentioned until check out. Just another tagged on fee. The hotel was only around $80 for the night, but the area not too far from it was iffy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

5 minutes away from both Busch and USF. Great continental breakfast. Rooms cleaned daily. My only negative review is the wifi. Works well in the early morning and late night but very slow during the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank stupart74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
Address: 3001 University Center Drive, Tampa, FL 33612 (Formerly All Suites Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa near Busch Gardens. We are conveniently located only minutes from I275, the University of South Florida, James A. Haley Veterans Hospital and of course, Busch Gardens. Our all-suite hotel features a complimentary continental breakfast daily, free high speed internet, complimentary shuttle service to Busch Gardens, USF and Veterans Hospital, outdoor heated pool, activity deck with pool tables and table tennis, guest laundry service, large vehicle parking and so much more. We are located in the heart of it all. Book on line today or call us for personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens/Usf Hotel Tampa
Best Western Hotel Tampa
Best Western Tampa
Tampa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing