We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock hard mattress!”
Review of Best Western Tampa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Tampa
Ranked #51 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rock hard mattress!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Nice enough, small room, everything works and is clean. But, yikes, I like firm mattresses, but it was like sleeping on the floor. My husband had to finally get up and go to CVS for OTC sleeping aides. Desk staff is friendly, breakfast has the basics (coffee, bagels and yogurt) and the BW standard, the waffle maker. Convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    147
    89
    37
    25
See reviews for
147
121
46
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
orlando fl
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

we stayed in room #222 what a nice room that is,at the end of the hallway,peaceful,and so big looks a suite,even the bathroom was huge,we were very happy with that,swiming pool on the back of hotel were wont disterb anyone opens 24 hours,great location, room price was good also.continental breakfast was great too.

Room Tip: 222 was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salserita55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohhector
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The hotel itself is relatively nice...it has been remodeled fairly recently, or at least looks like it. The lobby is very nice, and the hallways and rooms are nice as well. Got a random upgrade to the jacuzzi suite. It's actually a whirlpool tub, not a hot tub.

A few not-so-great things:
-Wifi was unreliable. Connection kept failing, and when the connection was steady the internet was very slow and unusable.
-The whirlpool tub had really poor water pressure, it took over 20 minutes to fill up.
-It might have just been the room I was in (all the way towards the back of the hotel) but there was this relatively loud booming noise that kept happening. It seemed like it was the AC or maybe some sort of vent connected to the room, but it made the room be very unrelaxing, especially for sleep.

-Bed was very stiff/firm. In that, it was not uncomfortable...but if you prefer the "cloud" feeling these beds will not be to your liking.

If not for the worthless wifi, I would have rated this a 4.

Room Tip: Do not pick the rooms closest to the back of the hotel, noisy AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohhector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights. Pleasant experience. Room was big with good wifi. Breakfast was ok. Next door is IHOP and supermarket and other eateries are within 10 mins walk. Reception service was very good. Parking is free and it was easy to find best western tampa. About 15 mins drive to Tampa Convention Centre. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmsg128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel is only 10 minutes from downtown & near several grocery stores, restaurants, and fast food places. Great for someone just wanting a place to sleep while visiting but certainly not to hang out for hours. There is a small refrigerator, an onsite laundry, treadmill in the fitness room, & free wireless. The rooms are very average. it's been a while since they were updates but my room was clean. The staff was helpful with directions to places. Near to the airport. With a car you can get quickly to the shopping mall & downtown.

Room Tip: The rooms are off the street so you really don't have street noise. On a very busy street and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPTmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stay at a lot of Best Western hotels and are usually satisfied with them. This particular hotel was a huge disappointment. This was the most uncomfortable bed I've slept on in a very long time. The bathroom was a galley...very narrow. The TV was old. Breakfast was typical for a continental breakfast, nothing special but the only reason they did not get a terrible rating! We got a good deal on the room compared to hotels in the area but I felt we got ripped off!!! This was a hotel that should have been in the budget range at best!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PR0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was an ok place to spend one night before my flight in the morning. They offered a free shuttle which always helps. Free internet as well. The room was rather ordinary expect for the 9 foot ceilings on the 3rd floor! It is a bit dated. I appreciate the fridge and the microwave there. There was no hot tub (yah I know its Florida, but a hot tub is nice in the spring and fall after a long drive). For the cheap price I got it, I would stay again for 1 night myself, but I would like something a little better if the girlfriend was with me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#97 of 163 in Tampa
267 reviews
1.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
0.2 mi away
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park Hotel
#91 of 163 in Tampa
76 reviews
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tampa

Property: Best Western Tampa
Address: 734 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609-4403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tampa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this Tampa, Florida hotel located in the desirable South Tampa area only minutes from downtown Tampa and nearby attractions like Raymond James Stadium, George M. Steinbrenner Field, Amalie Arena, the Tampa Convention Center, and Tampa International Airport. Whether you are visiting for fun or work, the BEST WESTERN Tampa wants to make your trip memorable! Our accommodations are perfect for leisure travelers visiting the Tampa Bay area. Discover new creatures at the Tampa Aquarium, take a well-deserved cruise from the Port of Tampa, or enjoy a Tampa Bay Buccaneers football game, New York Yankees Spring Training game, Tampa Bay Lightning hockey, or the Outback Bowl. You are sure to have a great time and enjoy the convenient location of the BEST WESTERN Tampa! Traveling on business? We cater to both corporate and military travelers by offering Free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour business center. In addition, this Tampa, FL hotel's location is only minutes from MacDill Air Force Base, the University of Tampa, Tampa General Hospital, Westshore Business District, IBM, and Time, Inc. The BEST WESTERN Tampa offers newly renovated guest rooms, each complete with microwave, refrigerator, new Serta(R) beds, and LED flat screen TVS with over 70 HD channels. Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. This hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool, exercise facility, and business center. For an enjoyable experience and a convenient location, make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Tampa! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing