We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special, just close to the airport” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Tampa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tampa
Ranked #53 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nothing special, just close to the airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was an ok place to spend one night before my flight in the morning. They offered a free shuttle which always helps. Free internet as well. The room was rather ordinary expect for the 9 foot ceilings on the 3rd floor! It is a bit dated. I appreciate the fridge and the microwave there. There was no hot tub (yah I know its Florida, but a hot tub is nice in the spring and fall after a long drive). For the cheap price I got it, I would stay again for 1 night myself, but I would like something a little better if the girlfriend was with me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    137
    85
    36
    22
See reviews for
135
113
43
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

With all the improvements being done in beds in hotels and motels I was surprised to sleep of such a HARD bed. The room was okay, had a microwave and a small refrigerator. I would not pick this place over another in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

good breakfast comfotable the hotel is licated near the rental car

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights to see the Lightning vs Leafs game. The hallway and rooms smelt very bad of must and everything felt damp to touch. The bathroom needed a lot of updating, with just a small wall hung sink and rusted towel shelf. The king size room was large but wasn't extremely nice. The breakfest was okay since it was free but would rather eat elsewhere. The location was good for traveling downtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roach19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

This seems to be one of the properties that could be refurbished. Some of the guests were complaining of the service and the rooms. I think the workers do their best. The receptionist was very cordial and give us a nice room which met our expectation in the given circumstances.

Room Tip: Request to see the room first before checking in................
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emblemaccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

The first thing we noticed is the horrible accessibilty from Dale Mabry into the parking lot. Second, the parking lot(spots themselves) is small. One night we came back late, and my husband had to fold the mirrors in on our mini van and the vehicles on both sides of us just to get into a spot! The hallway, at least 3rd floor had a horrible musty smell. Our room had it too, until randomly one day our room started to smell like urine. We were there 6 days and every day I was at the desk getting rekeyed because they never programed them for the right amount of days.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingAl81977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I was skeptical about staying at Best Western, but I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. This is a "no frills" hotel but it was clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Really the only "problem" I had was that they were going to charge me more than was agreed upon when the reservations were made. They were willing to fix it though and all was well. The breakfast was mediocre but there is an IHOP, Starbucks, and Chik-Fil-A within walking distance for those who want more choices. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayleSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#108 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park Hotel
#86 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tampa

Property: BEST WESTERN Tampa
Address: 734 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Tampa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this Tampa, Florida hotel located in the desirable South Tampa area only minutes from downtown Tampa and nearby attractions like Raymond James Stadium, George M. Steinbrenner Field, Amalie Arena, the Tampa Convention Center, and Tampa International Airport. Whether you are visiting for fun or work, the BEST WESTERN Tampa wants to make your trip memorable! Our accommodations are perfect for leisure travelers visiting the Tampa Bay area. Discover new creatures at the Tampa Aquarium, take a well-deserved cruise from the Port of Tampa, or enjoy a Tampa Bay Buccaneers football game, New York Yankees Spring Training game, Tampa Bay Lightning hockey, or the Outback Bowl. You are sure to have a great time and enjoy the convenient location of the BEST WESTERN Tampa! Traveling on business? We cater to both corporate and military travelers by offering Free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour business center. In addition, this Tampa, FL hotel's location is only minutes from MacDill Air Force Base, the University of Tampa, Tampa General Hospital, Westshore Business District, IBM, and Time, Inc. The BEST WESTERN Tampa offers newly renovated guest rooms, each complete with microwave, refrigerator, new Serta(R) beds, and LED flat screen TVS with over 70 HD channels. Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. This hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool, exercise facility, and business center. For an enjoyable experience and a convenient location, make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Tampa! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing