We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice from the Tampa Convention Center for Unique Food and Beers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Dufrain

Cafe Dufrain
Ranked #132 of 2,368 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Choice from the Tampa Convention Center for Unique Food and Beers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I highly recommend Cafe Dufrain when you are at the Tampa Convention center. Its menu is short but includes unique dishes made from locally grown products. Their beer selection is also very good. When you are at the Tampa Convention Center, cross the bridge to Harbor Island and take a short walk east along the waterfront to Cafe Dufrain.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilS_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    75
    23
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
603 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Excellent Eclectic with Outdoor Seating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I head heard this restaurant was worth visiting and had the opportunity to try it out for lunch. Small, but very pleasant outdoor seating area greatly enhances the meal. The harbor island location provides a nice view of the city while still maintaining a peaceful atmosphere. Best of all the outdoor seating was not smoky. The salads and burgers were excellent. Everything was very fresh and the service was excellent. We'll be back to try it for dinner!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TampaTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well crafted and prepared entrees, but little variety”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We love this restaurant, and eat there frequently. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, and the service friendly but not invasive. The menu trends towards too many pork selections, and rarely changes despite appeals from frequent customers to offer alternative choices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jvloveren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely meal on a lovely evening.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I dined here with a colleague on a beautiful January evening. We sat outside on the deck/patio (as opposed to on the sidewalk). Our server was quite friendly and willing to answer our questions. My dinner companion had the Cobb salad. She noted that the salad had a lot of salad dressing on it, but that the flavor was very good and (in this case) she was OK with that. I had the pork dinner and it was outstanding! Everything about the description of the entree sounded wonderful and my meal did not disappoint.

Cafe Dufrain is located across the channel from my hotel (Marriott Waterside); it was a pleasant walk from the hotel over to the cafe.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PSU_Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“delicious food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I ate here for my birthday. I wasn't even aware that this restaurant existed, but now I will add it to my list of favorites! We did a tasting menu, let the chef surprise us. The grouper cheeks were amazing! We actually loved everything we tried! I cannot wait to go back.
This is definitely one of Tampa's best kept secrets, make the trip to Harbor Island and try it, you won't regret it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank randallfamily8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Dufrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing