We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coolest place in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
GP Gram's Place Hostel
Ranked #1 of 7 Tampa B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 22, 2005

I absolutely adored Gram's Inn. My boyfriend and I stayed there based on this site's recommendations and the promise that it was something out of the ordinary. Those factors combined with the price (I believe our room came out to $60) guaranteed our reservation. Mark is very kind and was a fantastic host, facilitating everything over the phone and online while I was in Texas. He even asked if we played music, and if my boyfriend and I might want to jam. Upon arriving, even though we had a late check in, he was very friendly and accomodating. A very genuine man who makes you feel more than welcome. We stayed in the adventure room, which is small but the photo on their website is an accurate portrayal. We found it perfect for us. If you're looking for a posh 5 star hotel, this is not for you. If you are okay with the concept of an American hostel with cool people in a cool environment and a cool host, I highly recommend checking it out. You'll never forget this place.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KarlynDarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 110 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Dubsi aus Berlin
13
Reviewed April 19, 2005

If you like adventures and good music that never ends, then this is the right place for you! Check out the train room.

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Palm Coast, FL
13
Reviewed July 14, 2004

We recently met with old college friends and stayed at Gram's. If your meeting a group like we did, I suggest you stay in the area of the house where rooms #7 and #8 are(there are actually 3 rooms) as this was really convenient. It was like having our own home. The owner Mark Holland was a terrific host. If he is really from Planet Pluto then I would like to meet more people from there. This is not a place I would reccomend to young adults or families with chidren. It was just perfect however, for our recent reunion.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
dublin, ireland
11
Reviewed April 8, 2004

my wife and i decided to return to tampa to visit family. we live in europe, our holiday destinations in the past include marrakech, barcelona, berlin, amsterdam, tarifa and we were looking to travel to tampa but avoid the usual florida hotel experience. i grew up in south florida so i was keen to show my wife the 'authentic tampa' and far away from the areas over run with 'strip malls' and sterility. gram's place is more about 'going native' and will likely one day be featured on a tv programme or travellers guide centering around the dissapearing florida. go now, see for yourself...and don't expect room service ;)

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
212
Reviewed April 6, 2004

Gram's Place is owned by Mark, but it's dedicated to the late Gram Parsons. Mark has taken two adjoining houses and melded them into a wonderful, fantabulous place to stay. From the rooftop observation deck, to the hand poured outdoor hot tub, the British style outdoor phone booth, the outdoor shower and toilet and the list goes on. Rooms with private or shared bath are music themed (Jazz, Rock n Roll, Blues, etc.) and the clock radios tune in the low power FM station attached to the 400 CD jukebox. The outdoor bar is just what the doctor ordered, but I think it's strictly BYOB... A stay at Gram's Place is a break away from the bland cookie cutter hotel and motel rooms in the area and offer a refreshing break for the soul.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tampa, Florida
17
Reviewed May 19, 2003

We have stayed at Gram's twice and have driven over and visited many more times.I love Gram's and love Mark, the owner, and the kitties Miss Janita and Miss Piggy (she matches her name)... it is a cool little place that not all would love. It is an "oasis". Basically Mark started buying houses and turning them into his idea of heaven. Has a hot tub, a "train depot", a tree fort (that we slept in one weekend), great music and some of the best conversations I have had in my adult years have been there.It is in a transitional neighborhood, but I have never felt anything but loved and safe while staying there. I believe that the neighbors like Gram's because it brings in great people.There isn't really breakfast, muffins are provided, but there is an old time, origional, greek owned diner up the road where you get the best meal ever for $5.It isn't the Ritz, but it is a terrific place with TONS of character. The rooms were clean too. Otherwise I wouldn't go back.My husband and I go by and share a beer with the cats on occasion.If you like Key West, Amsterdam or Montreal, you'll love Gram's!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnaZamp1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
5.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
6.6 mi away
Sailport Waterfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
8.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GP Gram's Place Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GP Gram's Place Hostel

Address: 3109 N Ola Ave, Tampa, FL 33603-5744
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tampa
Price Range: $31 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Gram`s Place Bnb Guesthouseshostel And Music Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing