We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fabulously Quirky” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tampa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music
Ranked #1 of 7 Tampa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulously Quirky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed in 50 or 60 motels during my trip across the USA, this is the one that was the most fun.
You're not going to be able to read your complimentary copy of USA Today over toasted muffins in the breakfast room but on the upside, but on the upside you won't be reading your complimentary copy of USA Today over toasted muffins in the breakfast room, you'll be having fun.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nerovega_301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    35
    2
    5
    7
See reviews for
8
17
37
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

This was do cool a completely different experience. Me and my boyfriend travelled America last year and we stayed here for a long weekend. Bruce was so cool really laid back and showed us a brilliant side to the south, he even gave us a ride in his truck to st. Petes beach after recommending we go there. I will never forget this experience very homely and interesting! If we are ever back in Tampa I know we will visit! Thanks

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfreton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitchell, ne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Be careful when staying here. They were infested with bed bugs when I stayed on March 20, 2012. I contacted the owner and he said he would get right on the problem. It seemed like a nice place otherwise, but I didn't stay long. I took off as quickly as I could.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank windyhillMitchell_Ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

How many Hiltons and Best Westerns can you do? Life, and especially travel is about adventure and expanding horizons. Don't miss an opportunity to explore this mini-compound of fascinating vegetation, Americana, music, & people. Don't expect cookie-cutter 5-star pillow mints & fancy folded towels--Expect to enjoy your stay here as much or more as your vacation itself!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbug60814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

This place is comfortable, friendly and fun. But it's more than just a hostel. There's a whole story behind Gram's Place and it's great to have experienced it. More here: http://www.timetravelturtle.com/2011/11/grams-place-tampa-florida/

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timetravelturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

This place is as close to good old fashioned "trust and a hand shake" as you can get these days. Once a person gets a hang of the rhythm, it is a fun place to be. Europeans are attracted to the place because they know about hostels. I made friends with a fellow from Cologne Germany, an Austrian, a well traveled writer, and a mixture of other folk. The owner sets the tone for "laid back" and shows a genuine interest in his guests. Lots of tips for guests. Visitors feel trusted and are therefore trustworthy and everyone seems to find their niche in the flow. I biked and used the bus. It is doable although the place is a 45 minute walk from downtown...yeah I walked it...not many buses on Sunday. The place was acceptably clean and the dust bunnies under my bed made it feel like home.

Room Tip: I hear the beds in the "train" room are awfully narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnesotasparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

its like a place out of this world!! i've met the nicest people there, and would go back any time! cleanliness is ok, but the place itself and the people there make it all worth the stay!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tasha791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#12 of 161 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#16 of 161 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

Property: Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music
Address: 3109 N Ola Ave, Tampa, FL 33603-5744
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Gram`s Place Bnb Guesthouseshostel And Music Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing