We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to unwind--a life experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tampa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music
Save
You added Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 9 Tampa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place to unwind--a life experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

How many Hiltons and Best Westerns can you do? Life, and especially travel is about adventure and expanding horizons. Don't miss an opportunity to explore this mini-compound of fascinating vegetation, Americana, music, & people. Don't expect cookie-cutter 5-star pillow mints & fancy folded towels--Expect to enjoy your stay here as much or more as your vacation itself!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbug60814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    35
    2
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
17
35
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

This place is comfortable, friendly and fun. But it's more than just a hostel. There's a whole story behind Gram's Place and it's great to have experienced it. More here: http://www.timetravelturtle.com/2011/11/grams-place-tampa-florida/

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timetravelturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This place is as close to good old fashioned "trust and a hand shake" as you can get these days. Once a person gets a hang of the rhythm, it is a fun place to be. Europeans are attracted to the place because they know about hostels. I made friends with a fellow from Cologne Germany, an Austrian, a well traveled writer, and a mixture of other folk. The owner sets the tone for "laid back" and shows a genuine interest in his guests. Lots of tips for guests. Visitors feel trusted and are therefore trustworthy and everyone seems to find their niche in the flow. I biked and used the bus. It is doable although the place is a 45 minute walk from downtown...yeah I walked it...not many buses on Sunday. The place was acceptably clean and the dust bunnies under my bed made it feel like home.

Room Tip: I hear the beds in the "train" room are awfully narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnesotasparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

its like a place out of this world!! i've met the nicest people there, and would go back any time! cleanliness is ok, but the place itself and the people there make it all worth the stay!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tasha791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

This place is great. You have to see it to believe it. You can relax in the spa with a few beers and watch a live band then go chill out on the crows nest. The staff were fantastic. Its also a great place to meet people. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsantun79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

If your a family or someone with high expectations, stay at a hotel. This is a fun place with great history and fun rooms. I originally only intended to stay a few days but once there I ended up staying 9 days! Bruce was super and eager to help out. Met some great people there as well who will remain life long friends. I have no complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: not family friendly unless your fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahl4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly, pa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

We only had one day to spend at Gram's before moving on to another part of FL, and it happened to be the first truly swim-worthy day since Winter. We hung out with Bruce at the makeshift bar and he gave me the house Baby Taylor to strum away on with my feet dipped in the outdoor jacuzzi and borrowed the bikes and pedaled up to the Taco Bus--which is a MUST STOP for any roadside taco truck lover: real deal. I'd return!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t.a.darlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
2.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
4.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
1.9 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#13 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

Property: Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music
Address: 3109 N Ola Ave, Tampa, FL 33603-5744
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Gram`s Place Bnb Guesthouseshostel And Music Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing