We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Staff...comfortable room, warm pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa Brandon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa Brandon
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Staff...comfortable room, warm pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

My daughter and I arrived in Tampa on December 6th for a short two-night stay--we were attending a funeral. Check-in was quick and easy and parking was abundant. The hotel had bell carts; getting our luggage upstairs was easy (I prefer valets and bellmen, but this hotel was convenient and the reviews great). We used the pool shortly after check-in. It had a few bugs, but I was able to quickly and easily clean those out with the skimmer hanging nearby. The water was comfortably warm with an outside air temperature of about 65 degrees. Our room was spacious, close to the elevators (not so close as to be noisy), and clean overall. There were also plenty of towels available in the room. The bed and pillows were comfortable, but I’d love to see larger pillows (longer) with more filling choices (down, feather, synthetic). We went to the manager’s reception the first night and found a staff member (Carmen B) that went way above and beyond what I assume were her general duties. Carmen was working in the bar/restaurant area and was very welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. When my daughter said she didn’t like lemon pie (offered for free at the manager’s reception), Carmen went and got her chocolate cake. I didn’t get the other gentleman’s name, but he too was very friendly and went to find something that my daughter preferred. There was also another lady that had mostly been attending to a party with a birthday who went out of her way for all the guests. I’ve honestly never been more impressed with a group of wait staff in my life. We went to breakfast later in the morning—about 1015 on Saturday (the buffet closes at 1030 on weekends). The buffet was completely stocked with most everything you’d want from a buffet. The staff again was incredibly helpful and friendly to everyone around. A guy came in late, after the buffet had closed, and one of the ladies working there asked what he’d like. Even though the buffet was over, she went into the back and came out with a plate of what he had requested. The lady we had most contact with during breakfast was Ruth; she too was really friendly and helpful to us and everyone I saw her encounter. After breakfast, we went to the pool and found that it was again, comfortably warm; there were also plenty of towels available for our use. In addition to the great staff, this hotel had great water pressure in the shower (a seemingly small issue unless you’ve ever tried to rinse the shampoo out of your hair with drips). Also, the tub drained properly—bad tub drainage is another pet peeve of mine that seems small, but can be really annoying when you are almost knee high in soap scum filled water. Finally, the heat/air conditioning system is a unit (not a wall unit—I hate those) that is sufficiently quiet and removed from the sleeping area so as to provide a quiet and comfortable environment. One suggestion to this and many other hotels is please provide somewhere for guests to hang wet bathing suits. I don’t like to leave our suits dripping in the closet (the most convenient place for me to leave them with the hangars available and the most hygienic since they aren’t touching any shower parts), but not nice for the carpeting in the room. I don’t want to trash the carpet, but often, there are few other options. I had the do not disturb sign up, so our room did not get serviced during our short stay, so I can’t comment on housekeeping. I’m a bit of a hotel snob, but I really enjoyed my stay in this Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kb239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    173
    53
    39
    19
See reviews for
287
149
29
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

The Embassy Suites in Brandon, FL is a new hotel so everything is clean and new. Each suite has 2 flat screen TV's, a fridge, microwave, table for 3, and a pullout sofabed. The price includes breakfast served buffet style in the restaurant. The variety was excellent and the food was very good. They even have an omlette station and cook to order. (Please remember to tip the lady who cleans the tables, we noticed many people not tipping).
You also receive a card at check-in to enjoy free drinks at the bar everyday for happy hour. That was an excellent perk and the bartender was extremely nice and helpful w/ touristy type information.
We had the pool area to ourselves the few times we used it. It was well maintained and sparkling clean.
I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — The breakfasts, the cleanliness, happy hours!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zzubzzub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

Very nice. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The staff are wonderful. I was travelling on business and did not know they area. They were extremely helpful in helping us locate restaurants, shopping, etc.

  • Liked — The rooms were extremely nice, the staff was exceptional
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ohio47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

This new Embassy, tucked away in a corner of a freeway intersection, frankly doesn't have much ambiance. It is a smaller version of the typical Embassy, with the obligatory atrium, this time in a shoe-box shape--seen any prison movies lately? While the staff was nice and congenial, the hotel was dead. The "happy hour" consisted of me and one other person. A hot breakfast was offered, with an omelet station. There is a restaurant, but not once during the evening did I see one table occupied. Needless to say, dinner reservations aren't necessary! The suite was nicely appointed, but the air conditioning was hard to regulate. Set at 67 degrees, the room was still slightly warm. There is a small pool with hot tub. Overall, it is a comfortable hotel and definitely quiet, but don't expect to be in the middle of the action.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

We booked this Embassy Suites based on it's tripadvisor rating, and our past history with the chain. We were greeted promptly, checked in quickly, and went right up to the room, a second floor suite right over the atrium. We went right down to the pool, and the kids enjoyed it. It is right out front, facing the front lot and bordered by a nice fence and some shrubbery. Plenty of towels, plenty of sun, but only one umbrella for the whole area. *Remember to bring your room key, it is the only way into and out of the pool area.*
I left the pool early to shower first, and I am glad I did. I jumped into the shower, and noticed many (not just one or two) coarse black curly hairs on the shower wall, tub, and shower curtain. I got out, towelled off, and called downstairs. James answered, I told him that I wanted a new room, and he came right up. He agreed that the room was not cleaned properly. By that time, the rest of the family came up, and didn't want to move. James came back up himself with rubber gloves and cleaning supplies, and cleaned the bathroom himself, then sent us to the lobby for a complementary dinner. At dinner, we met Carmen, who was a star. She was super busy, and still could not have been nicer to all of us, taking our order and fussing over us until we were through with our meals. The food was excellent, and, as I said, the service was exceptional.
After a night out, we got back to the room and found that there were no sheets on the sofabed. It was after 12 midnight at that point, and our daughter just wrapped herself up in a blanket she located in the closet.
The morning breakfast was typical ES faire, good selection, teriffic omelets, and very crowded. As we were getting ready, we did notice all kinds of additional noise......doors slamming, toilet noises from the rooms upstairs or next door, and a dull roar from the Atrium area. The noise is beyond their control, but just something to be aware of.
The housekeeper was there early, and did a fairly thorough job. Wayyyyyyyy better than the condition of the room when we originally checked in.

All in all, our stay was tainted by the condition of the room on arrival. The staff did their part, and more, but unfortunately, you only get one shot at a first impression. If back in the area, I would try another place.

  • Liked — The staff was the only reason we stayed here.
  • Disliked — Room not clean, overall noise from abutting rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

This place is incredible. It's brand new and has all the newer amenities. Flat screen TV's in both bedroom and living room area. Granite counters. Beautiful bed linens and furniture. Much higher level than your usual hotel or Embassy Suites. Can't say enough good things. Immaculate housekeeping.

The location is convenient to the highway and shopping. Not too far from things. Very safe and a bunch of new hotels are all in the same area which is quiet.

The breakfast was good. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you are happy and enjoying your stay. This place has not been found by the masses yet but once it is they'll be repeat visitors.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nevera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
119 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

This was a great hotel all around. The front desk staff was very friendly. Great flat screen tv's in the rooms (but no HD programming). The pool was being renovated (3/28/08) but looks like it should be open in the next few weeks. They had it set up to use the pool at the hotel next door. Managers hour was very nice. Lots of great bars and restaurants near by and right off I-75 near the I-4 interchange.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank setcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
12.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa Brandon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa Brandon

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa Brandon
Address: 10220 Palm River Rd, Tampa, FL 33619-4400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tampa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#15 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa Brandon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Tampa Brandon is just seven miles from downtown Tampa and offers easy access to Busch Gardens, Fl State Fairgrounds, University of South Florida, Tampa Convention Center, beaches, and more. Guest rooms at this all-suite hotel feature a fully-equipped kitchen, high-speed Internet access, and two televisions with HBO. The property also offers complimentary made to order breakfast and evening reception with free snacks and alcohol, outdoor pool, and fitness room. On-site dining is available at Mango’s Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa Brandon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon Hotel Tampa
Embassy Suites Brandon
Brandon Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing