We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre food and service”

Acropolis Greek Taverna
Ranked #40 of 2,383 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Historic Ybor
Description: Acropolis Greek Taverna serves South and Central Tampa and features a full bar, casual "tavern-style" dining and entertainment. Located in historic Ybor City's entertainment district. This location also hosts entertainment including bouzouki and belly dancing on the weekends.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and service”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My waitress was pretty indifferent, as I was dining alone - clearing away the dishes and getting my appetizer in a timely fashion was too much effort for her. The spanakopita was good but my entree was mediocre. It made me think the place is popular mainly for the modest prices and the entertainment and certainly not the food quality.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    149
    48
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and great view!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Lunch was wonderful, peaceful, great value, great food. Service was perfect! We sat right on the waterfront for a wonderful view of the river.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank judyk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
172 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Seemed a little overdone”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Have mixed feelings here. Pretty good on the cheese and hummus appetizers. Sangria was OK, but the ambiance, breaking plates/napkin toss and mandolin player had more appeal to my wife than to me. We had the kabobs, which were only fair. The onions were raw and inedible and the meat was cold. They were seasoned pretty well though and the service was pretty good. The place is loud, making conversation close to impossible. I think with the right group you could have a lot of fun here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PanamaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“very good experience”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I ate one of the daily specials the table waitress quoted us although I can't remember the name of the dish. Before dinner I ate the crab chowder which is milk-based. The chowder was excellent. I also requested bread and olive oil and got what I wanted. The table waitress was friendly and accomodating. The atmosphere was excellent; there was live music--a guitarist playing to background music and percussion. The restaurant staff danced and chanted and one of them broke plates, but please note they didn't crash dishes onto the floor (probably for safety reasons). The dishes are broken into a container albeit in a vivid and memorable manner. I recommend Acropolis, Ybor City. The restaurant features large full-bodied windows and since Ybor City is beautiful at night the restaurant features scenic dining.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwansaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Had lunch on Sunday- good experience”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our group of 4 had lunch there. No outside seating was available even though we didn't get there til late (2).
The gyro was generous and very tasty.
The sangria was buy one get one -- and it wasn't very good at all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NKRGmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acropolis Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Acropolis Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing