We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Stay, Poor WIFI” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa/Brandon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa/Brandon
Ranked #64 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Waterville, Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Poor WIFI”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent two week traveling around Florida attending spring training baseball games. We stayed at the Tampa/Brandon Country Inns & Suites several days. The location was about a mile from I 75 with many restaurants and malls close by. The room was great, the breakfast was great with hot and cold cereal, waffles, bagels, pastries, eggs, sausage and juice. Given the great breakfast the ample breakfast area was always crowded. This hotel like most has those mini pillows, I hate mini pillows! Maybe if enough guests complain they will use regular pillows. The only real negative was the internet connectivity. There was no wired connectivity and the WIFI was so slow as to be useless.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 61Yankees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    93
    31
    11
    19
See reviews for
125
69
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schererville, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I spent 3 nights at this hotel and enjoyed everyone of them. The staff is excellent and the hotel is extremely clean and quiet. There are a lot of restaurants around and shopping is convenient. I will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Spent the night here on our jaunt down the coast. Very clean appearance and good first impression. Helpful and friendly front desk staff, always makes such a difference on whether your stay will be pleasant! Our King bedroom was well appointed including microwave and small refrigerator (great for leftovers). Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruits included - a personal favorite.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skyecameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Plenty of places to eat and drink in the vicinity so the location is good. My room was very spacious and clean. Everything worked as it should. The only drawback was there was no safe in the room - other than that, no complaints at all.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Celtic_traveller165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I usually stay at the Country Inn and Suites by Carleton every time I travel. I am a traveling sales person so I frequent hotels a lot and had become a Carleton club member. I am sorry to say but this is one hotel I will not recommend.

1. At check in there are only 2 luggage carts for the guest. They have 4-stories of rooms but 2 carts. Even being a club member I was put on the 4th floor. With all my business materials and luggAge it took me 5 trips.

2. I stayed for 6 days and 4 out of the 6 days they kept running out of eggs and misc food you look forward to in the morning.

3. The 4th day I stayed I decided to sleep in the 2nd bed (The room had 2 beds) and when I pulled open the sheets there was blood like someone had a nose bleed. This showed me that when guest leave they do not change the sheets all thie time but simply just make the bed.

4. Even with the bloody sheets episode you would have thought they would offer a discount or an apology. As you may have guessED....NOTHING!

I stayed the week of Jan 14-20th 2013. Please do not go here.

Room Tip: Do not bring the Hotel coupon from the coupon book they advertise in. They will not take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sinter4911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I'm writing this review from the hotel over the free wifi.

This is a great bargain in a great area. I'm staying here 2 nights for the RV Supershow. The area is actually very convenient with a lot of nice restaurants, a mall and access to main highways. Didn't take more than 10-15 minutes to get to the Florida Aquarium downtown.

We have 2 kids, 5 and 2. 4 of us altogether in a suite thats larger than most rooms with a great area with a couch and chair, a desk area and a small microwave/fridge area. The room is large, really clean and well kept. The bathroom is standard, clean with strong pressurized hot water, hair dryer and the regular toiletries. The room is large overall and we like the extra space. The air conditioner is horrible though. Loud and too powerful. I would set it to 70 before you go to bed, get the room cold, then turn it up to 72 so that it doesn't start when you try to go to sleep. The fridge made some weird noises as well. It woke me up the first night around 4 and I had to give it a whack to get back to sleep. Lets see tonight. Theres ample channels on the TV and its a flat screen. The picture is not HD however. There's free wifi. I'm not knocking the hotel rating for the fridge. We asked for it, and we need it. Just an FYI.

The entrance way to the hotel was nice with a simple and clean fireplace area and a check in office. Also on the 1st floor was a dining room for breakfast, some conference spaces and a small weight room with a couple of elipticals and all in ones. The free breakfast is a great feature but get down early. There is a pretty good selection including scrambled eggs, sausage,waffles, coffee and breads. There are also free cookies at night.

I would recommend this place for a short stay. The AC noise is really my only complaint and I would say that in my recommendation. Without the AC noise its easily a 5 star moderate hotel.

We've stayed in Ritz-Carlton's to tents. This is a well kept and clean establishment to rest your head for a night or two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonSto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tappahannock
Level Contributor
156 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We recently stayed at this facility for one evening before leaving Tampa Bay on a cruise. I thought the number ne rated place in the area was a bit farther out than i wanted and this place seemed convenienth and the price was very favorable. In fact, the price was low enough that i worried about safety and cleanliness, but the reviews were good and I have learned to trust tripadvisor reviews as long as there are enough of them to have a critical mass. Anyhow, this place was very clean, perfectly acceptable, very safe and extremely close to all kinds of restaurants and places to shop, including a regional mall. The check in staff (Kevin) was extremely helpful and the room was good and it was clean. The continental breakfast was the standard fare, but the breakfast room was clean and the food was appropriate. For the price, we will make sure we seek this hotel out again if and when we are in the Tampa area. Management deserves Kudos and their staff does an excellent job.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivahrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tampa
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Brandon
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Tampa / Brandon
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tampa Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Brandon
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon Regency Park
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa/Brandon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa/Brandon

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa/Brandon
Address: 915 S Falkenburg Rd, Tampa, FL 33619-8023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Tampa
#16 Family Hotel in Tampa
#27 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa/Brandon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa/Brandon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Tampa/Brandon
Country Inn & Suites Tampa/Brandon Hotel Tampa
Country Inn Tampa Brandon
Tampa Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing