We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Fun at a NHL Lightning game”
Review of Amalie Arena

Amalie Arena
Ranked #8 of 196 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family Fun at a NHL Lightning game”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were vacationing a couple of hours from Tampa and decided to take our son to his first NHL game. Since he loves hockey and has only been to see the semi pro team near Memphis we got tickets center ice, about 20 rows up behind the teams' benches. The game was very entertaining, the crowd was great, fans were friendly with no rude, obscene language near us (was a little concerned since I think of hockey as an aggressive sport, thought fans might be the same way). The Tampa Lightning seems very intertwined w/the community, and the fans seem quite fond of their players. It was Tampa fights cancer night so they spotlighted several cancer survivors in a very touching way. Our favorite part of the game was the organ player playing live from high above- he rocks! The American flag was passed through the audience our heads during the National Anthem, that was a cool feature I have never seen done! We loved the game, the arena and will return!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank abamagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    866
    370
    90
    25
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bon Jovi Concert”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I loved the layout and the ease to get to it. We stayed at the Marriott next to it, so it was within walking distant. The Embassy is also very close by. I felt very safe walking at night.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank flaglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“seating is not worth the price”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was disappointed about the seating. For the price of the tickets to watch a concert, about all you can see is the back of the persons head in front of you. All they do is cover up the hockey rink, and set up folding chairs and charge over $100. I can't see the justification of that cost to only be able to view a large screen and not be able to see the stage. It was a great concert with lousy seating. The Times Forum is not the place to have a concert unless you are in the front row!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Pink Concert and Hockey Game”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Wow ! Now thats how to do it Tampa! Hocket parties in the parking lot bars in the lot and Bands OUTside for a warm up to both events! PINK Rocked it outta the house and well Tampa lost at hockey but won our hearts!! Passing a giant flag overhead and well The service is alittle slow for Beer and the price is crazy $15.00 WHAATTT... So all in all we love it all...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sassygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best hockey venue ever!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Best hockey venue ever! Terrific building, easy access and parking. Vibrant,energized venue, including organist. Plenty of food & drink options including craft beer. Best scoreboard I've seen for an arena.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AZbrewmaster59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amalie Arena also viewed

 

Been to Amalie Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing