We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun atmosphere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaspar's Grotto

Gaspar's Grotto
Ranked #158 of 2,356 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $7 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Historic Ybor
Description: We are best known for our signature Hog Wild Pirate Party and pig roast which we hold outside on the 6,300 square foot tropical patio, complete with fountains and tropical palms. Guests at Gaspar's Grotto can look forward to great food, wonderful times and excellent and eclectic service from costumed pirates. We offer pirate shows, pirate souvenirs, cigar rolling, live music, a shoe shine emporium, and bawdy serving.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We had signed up for a ghost tour & this was the meeting place so we decided to eat dinner here before the ghost tour. The atmosphere was fun & the food was good. The service on the other hand left a lot to be desired. The waiter was nice but the service was poor. Once we ordered (2 Cuban sandwiches) it took about 15 minutes for the food to come to the table. ( There was really nobody in the place since it was early). Then we decided to split a grilled cheese. We had a problem finding our waiter but we finally did & ordered it. It then took another 20 for the food to show up. The waiter never came back to check on us the whole time we were there. When the grilled cheese came out I told the waiter that we wanted to order milkshakes but I was concerned that they wouldn't come out in time for us to make the ghost tour, he said we should be fine, and we were. Like I said, the waiter was nice but just unattentive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    89
    48
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't eat here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is the first time I've given a bad review but this place earned it and I feel it's important to do this because people could be easily fooled the way my husband and I were. The patio looks and sounds inviting with a casual atmosphere and good music. That combined with the interested menu makes you want to sit down and so we did. We order two apps, one chips and gaud and the other quesadillas. We sat and talked for a very long time and the waiter came over many times to make small talk and to see if we were okay. He offered us alcohol and cupcakes but said that the kitchen was out of many things and had just received a shipment and he was sorry it was taking so long. We asked if we could at least get the chips but we couldn't. We received many updates but no food and finally asked for some Cuban bread and the waiter was happy to be able to bring us something but the bread was not cuban bread it was cold and close to french bread. When the chips finally came out, they were a bit greasy, the guacamole was great but the quesadillas were another story. They were supposed to be lobster and shrimp. They were burned and tasted like it, there was almost no cheese and the lobster was terrible. Since the guac was good we asked for more and the waiter was happy to help but came back and said they were out of guac. After it took over an hour to get this far, given the quality of the food, and the fact that they were out of several things; we decided to cut our loses and get dinner somewhere else. Don't be fooled by what this place could be because it isn't!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gaspar's Grotto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

The outside area of Gaspars is great. If you are in the area on the weekend, Sunday brunch is the best. Special pricing on drinks and great Sunday brunch food. Nighttime, most of the time, has music available outside. Good service, good food!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmbologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

The food was good, the beer icy cold and the beer garden has live music in the evenings. Try the Cuban sandwich or the Florida Cobb salad for local produce.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fun Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here twice pre and post cruise - first visit Nicole was bartending - she was fun - we were hoping to see her again when we arrived back. - 2nd visit John Paul was working the bar and although the rain was pouring down - he made us feel comfortable and was also fun to be around - lunch was good - service was good - sorry we missed you Nicole - perhaps next time!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaspar's Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing