We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel when in town for a concert.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel when in town for a concert.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed here while in town for 98 Rock Fest. The location is great. Walking distance to Channelside Plaza, the Florida Aquarium and SOHO.

The staff was friendly and helpful in all areas of the hotel. The room was large and we had a great view of downtown Tampa.

Lots of places to walk from this hotel including Channelside, Davis Island or downtown Tampa.

Cabs lineup right outside the hotel so it is easy to get a ride to SOHO or Ybor. SOHO is less than a 1.5 mile walk so you can just walk if the weather is nice and you are heading to a bar or place to eat.

The Trolley's restaurant delivered to the pool or it was just a quick trip down to get a drink.

Elevators can be a little slow, but not uncommon for a hotel with 20 floors. We would stay here again if coming to town for a concert, convention or cruise.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    565
    302
    143
    129
See reviews for
496
391
51
698
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

We spent three nights at the Embassy Suites Downtown in March 2010. We found the hotel to staff to be efficient and friendly, the rooms to be spacious and the location convenient to the things we wanted to do in the downtown Tampa area.

The full breakfast, with made to order omlets, each morning was well prepared and really added to the value of the room rate. At peak times you will stand in line for a few minutes to get your food. However, everything is fresh and well stocked and the seating area adequate and staffed to make sure that dishes are cleared promptly.

We only attended the Manager's reception once during our stay, but were please to be able to get a full array of complimentary cocktails in addition to beer and wine. Again, be prepared to wait in line at peak times.

The room was very spacious, even by suite hotel standards. For the most part the room was clean. However, both of the television screens were filthy. Not just dusty, but splattered with with something sticky/greasy.

The hotel is very convenient to the Trolley line that runs past Channelside Plaza, the Florida Aquarium and through Ybor City.

The only negative experience we had occurred at the hotel bar, Trolley's, the evening we arrived. I believe this was probably an isolated event related to a staff member with a personal issue, rather than being the way they treat customers regularily. Regardless, it kept us from returning to the bar or dining in the restaurant. Champions bar across the street at the Marriot is a better destination for food and drink.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthaDelTorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWFOUNDLAND, CANADA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

my husband and i stayed here from feb.26 to mar.1,2010.we found the suite very accomodating.it was very clean and well layed out.there is eveything you would need.separate room,wet bar,microwave,fridge,table/chairs and lounging area.its in a great location too,next to the convention centre and just a few steps from the st.pete forum et.c...the rooms were practically new and very up to date with granite counter tops in bathroom and wet bar area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAM4550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

I recently traveled to Tampa for business and decided to stay at this hotel since my meetings were all downtown. I can definitely say that this place's location and view was really nice - I could see Tampa Bay and Clearwater from my room on the 19th floor.

They did seem under staffed at check in time, but I am not sure if that changes when converntions are in town or when cruises are departing. All I really needed anyway when I checked in was my room key.

I do agree with other reviewers that said the pool was small and kind of in a weird location on the outside third floor terrace. I do like to swim when I travel, but there was no way I was going to brave that pool in 55 degree weather and 15 MPH winds.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genghisdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

This hotel is average at best.

They force you to park your car in valet for $20 per day with no other options. If you come back to the hotel late at night, good luck finding the valet guy to come and park your car.

The pool is small and on the 3rd floor of the hotel, often very windy to use the pool or sit by the pool.

The buffet restaurant which is a big feature of the hotel has very few options to choose from. It is quite small, but you do get a omlet-to-order.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nojosparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

We arrived late at night on Feb 12 and stayed through Feb 14. This weekend there was a HUGE volleyball competition - all girls - highschool at the convention center so it was extremely busy with girls being girls... We had 3 rooms for a total of 8 people and it was a very pleasant stay. Check in did take a few min longer then expected but a lot of people were checking in and they did have 3 people checking in the guests. Our room was prepared and a crib was in the room as requested as well. The crib though was at all satisfactory and we place a cushion from the couch in the crib. We had an adjoining room with my parents 816 and 817. Our room was next to the ice machine and we did not hear it all and it was used all night. The floor has 20 floors and the top floors do offer wonderful views of the Harbour, Westin Harbour and the Marriott. 2 blocks away is the Cruise ship terminal and right next to the hotel was the trolley system. you can ride all day unlimited for $5 per person. The managers reception was crowded and filled with teenage girls and the snack was salsa and chips with the bar open for adults and the soda machine open for children. We ordered in the first night from a pizza place as we arrived around 9 pm. The Restaurant in the hotel - Trolleys served up some decent food and the price was right but the services was slow. We ate 2 meals here. Being that this was an Embassy Suites the breakfast in the AM was exceptional. There was a huge variety except I wish they offered sausage gravy to go with the biscuits. The swimming pool was very warm - heated and I am glad that it was because the temps dropped to the 30's Fri night and 40's sat night. My daughter 9 y/o swam for hours in the pool which is located on the 3rd floor. Towels were an issue as they were not replenished quickly. Starbucks is also located on the first flood and was extremely busy all day and late into the evening. Overall I would go to this hotel again. It was over $100 cheaper then the marriott and the Westin Harbour. This hotel overall was a very good deal and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CantonDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

We usually stay at the wonderful Marriott across the street from this Embassy Suites, but decided to give this a try. What a disappointment. The pool is extremely small, there is no concierge, only saw a bellman on check out day when many people were leaving. Rooms are dark and dreary. The hotel also was not very clean for being relatively new. There was dirt around the baseboards and our carpet was none too clean. If you have a day of bad weather, this hotel offers nothing to do as an alternative. The gym has about 6 pieces of equipment and is very small. No one to help with luggage when you arrive and many times had to track down a valet when returning our car in the evening. We actually called the Marriott and used their concierge serve numerous times for restaurants, etc. Would have moved across the street, but the Marriott was filled. If you are simply going for the free breakfast in the morning, go 1 mile down the road to Publix and buy a box of donuts or granola bars and stay at the Marriott.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentflyer537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aloft Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#33 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Address: 513 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing