We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, not overly impressive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #41 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Davie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Adequate, not overly impressive.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Although this hotel offers a nice breakfast and happy hour, I have to say that for the rate we paid, I was not overly impressed. At check-in, I did not feel warmly welcomed. Our room, although clean, had stains on the carpet; but we had a nice view of the water from our bedroom window. The entire hotel looks like it could use updating. After staying at so many Marriott's over the years, I don't think I will become an Embassy Rewards member.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Linda B,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa-Downtown during your recent trip to Tampa. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.
I have noted your comments and apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. I would like to assure you we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided, taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies. I would therefore hope that your experience on this visit would not dissuade you from staying with us again if your plans bring you to Tampa.
We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in Embassy Suites Tampa-Downtown.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    591
    312
    150
    138
See reviews for
515
420
53
720
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Met a friend halfway for a Vaping convention in Tampa, and we split the cost of the room. Early check in fee was waived! Room was great. Connected walkway to the convention center was the selling point for me. Next day after check out our bags were held so we could enjoy more of the convention without the hassle of having to find other parking. Staff was Great. Overall, fantastic stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank E. Sebastian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear E Sebastian H,
I am very pleased to read you felt welcome at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your feedback of your experience. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

In Tampa to attend meetings at downtown convention center and found the Embassy Suites to be very convenient with an elevated walkway to the convention center. Valet parking was simple and quick both on arrival and departure. Hotel check-in was fast and efficient and we were in our room with no issues. Room clean and fresh. Of course, the complimentary breakfast and the evening reception were both well done! Location on the water with great walking opportunities! No complaints and definitely would recommend staying here!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Joe M,
I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at Embassy Suites Tampa-Downtown. Thank you for sharing your favorite aspects and for acknowledging our efforts to ensure no detail is missed in regards to making your stay comfortable.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your family's return in the near future.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I drove over from Melbourne Bch, to catch a hockey match. My wife is a huge Red Wings fan (From Sweden) and most of the wings are from Sweden. Anyway, the choice was between the Marriott and Embassy Suites. This choice was based on just an overnight place to stay, to avoid driving 2.5 hours back home. The Embassy Suites was ~ $30.00 less expensive than the Marriott, and was the same distance away from the rink. Check–in was smooth, however; there was only another couple in line. I did notice that about a ½ hr., later, there were about 10 people in line, and still only one clerk. The clerk was friendly, and very helpful. It was raining when we arrived, and I jokingly asked him if they rented out umbrella, and he handed us two free umbrellas from behind the desk! When we arrived to the room, I noticed that there was no Wi-Fi. I called downstairs, and was given a coupon code/password, so I could have Wi-Fi free for the night. The room itself was huge, a little outdated, but clean!
We walked across the street to the Marriott where friends were staying, and the place was packed. I checked out the rooms, and they were smaller, but really nice. We also heard that the visiting teams stay at the Marriott, and the RedWing Players were walking around the lobby. My wife would have loved that!!! What we liked the most was that you could literally walk back to the hotel in between periods, and not miss a thing. The hotel is that close. What we did not like is that the bar closed really early, Midnight I think, and they didn’t really have any munchies. Also, no one likes to pay $20 bucks for parking!

Anyway, if I were staying for more than two nights, I would stay at the Marriott, otherwise, this hotel was perfect for a one night hockey stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stratthewaterrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear stratthewaterrat,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa-Downtown for your recent visit. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed the hotel as well as the location and I appreciate you taking the time to recommend your experience on TripAdvisor for these reasons.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel is a joke. You pay nearly $200 a night and they don't provide free wifi. On top of that, they charge more than $20 a day to park your car, and if you don't leave by 2:00 p.m. the charge you an additional $13.00 in parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Daniel D,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay, I respect your candor. We strive for personalized experience for each of our guests, actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for comfort and convenience. I appreciate your review regarding parking costs and will take this opportunity to reevaluate our offerings. We hope we'll have another chance to serve you, should your business travels bring you back to our area.

Kind regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

great location for a Lightning game, nice walking paths. Good restaurants within walking distance too. Able to walk to the marina (couple of blocks).

We stayed in a corner suite on the 18th floor. Absolute bliss. Very quiet- away from the elevator, beds were nice, linens good, and CLEAN. Housekeeping was great. Room had a wonderful view of the canal and the Hockey Rink. Wouldn't stay this high up with small children....looking down to the lobby, even with railings made me nervous.

Breakfast was very good, and was a good value. Happy hour was decent too. Wine was mediocre, but who can complain about free cocktails??

Would stay here again for a convention.

Room Tip: corner suites on high floors for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear ABurns,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay.

I would also like to thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I am very pleased to read that your expectations were exceeded and to learn that our staff treated you well and you were happy with your accommodations.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to visit us again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great hotel location, but skip the restaurant...food is awful. Hotel staff is freindly, and even though we had to make multiple calls to the front desk to get a crib delivered it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Erik S,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the comfort of your room and location. I am also happy to read you regard the service you received as excellent. I was of course concerned to learn that your experience in Trolleys left you to feel disappointed.

I appreciate you sharing your feedback as we welcome constructive comments as an opportunity to improve our facility and services. I do hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel and trust you will find an improvement upon your next stay.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
0.5 mi away
Aloft Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#23 of 163 in Tampa
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 163 in Tampa
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Address: 513 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing